UW-Madison Google Workspace - Preserve MyDrive Data Using a Shared Drive
Creating Shared Drives allows teams to share files without having to adjust individual permissions and ensures that files are not lost when a file owner loses eligibility for the UW-Madison Google service.
- Log into your UW-Madison Google Account.
Create a Shared Drive.
- Go back to MyDrive and in the search bar, search for owner:name (ex: owner:bucky badger).
- Note: Doing this will only show files that are shared with you. Files that a person created but are not shared with you will not appear.
Drag the files that you want to transfer into the new Shared Drive which you can find in the menu on the left-hand side.
- Note: Folders cannot be moved this way. You will need to recreate the folder structure and permission settings for each file transferred into a Shared Drive. See here for more details.