University Committee Meeting Minutes 2023-05-01

Minutes approved May 8, 2023

Minutes for May 1, 2023

UC members present: Li, Papp (chair), Tejedo-Herrero, Thibeault, Zweibel

Others: Michelle Felber, Annie Jones, Julie Scharm

Chair Papp called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm.

Charles Isbell will become the new Provost at UW-Madison beginning on August 1. The shared governance guidelines for the UW System Shared Governance Representative group were distributed. Eric Sandgren, UW-Madison’s representative, has been helping to develop these.

The University Committee had previously discussed the change of reporting lines for the Dean of the Graduate School. The chancellor is interested in the UC exploring the possibility of this change. Since the Faculty Senate passed the current recommendations, any change would seem to need a positive vote of the senate. The UC will discuss the pathway for this issue at a future meeting.

Papp motioned, and it was seconded and approved to convene in closed session pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c) and (f) to discuss waivers at 1:15. One tenure clock extension and one leave of absence was approved.

Papp motioned to reconvene in open session at 1:24. It was seconded and approved.

Papp adjourned the meeting at 1:26.

KeywordsUniversity Committee   Doc ID128191
OwnerYutika S.GroupUW Secretary of the Faculty
Created2023-05-08 15:24:57Updated2024-02-14 17:03:58
SitesUW Secretary of the Faculty
Feedback  0   0