Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 11-16-23

Approved 11-30-23

ASEC Minutes

2:00 – 3:00 p.m. Thursday, November 16, 2023

53 Bascom Hall

Members Present: Donna Cole; Alissa Ewer; Julie Hunt Johnson; Stephanie Jones; Albert Muniz, chair; Terry Paape; Lindsey Stoddard Cameron; Nola Walker

Guests: Lesley Fisher

The meeting was called to order at 2:01 p.m.

Motion to Convene in Closed Session Pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c), and (f) to Discuss Appointments to the Ad Hoc Working Group on Researchers and Scientists (Cole). Seconded. Approved.

Motion to Reconvene in Open Session (Cole). Seconded. Approved.


  • Appointments – for vote

Motion to appoint Shane Hubbard, Stephanie Jones, Sang Hwa Kim, Michelle Miller, Sarah Pavao, Stacey Schaefer, and Rebecca Schwei to the Ad Hoc Working Group on Researchers and Scientists (Paape). Seconded. Approved.

  • Assembly Meeting Debrief

ASEC discussed questions that ASA members had on the forthcoming faculty strategic hiring initiative. With the passage of the resolution on age in the workplace, Donna, Alissa, and Nola volunteered to help draft a charge for the committee’s work.

  • ASEC Priorities Update and Planning Discussion

Albert reviewed where ASEC was at with each of its priorities for the year. Julie, Nola, Lesley, and Jake met to discuss campus dining and wellness. Topics discussed included the lack of healthy and diverse options in some areas of campus, questions around public/private partnerships in this space, mapping of options across campus, and what possibilities exist for new options on campus, both with the West Campus District Plan as well as other areas of campus. ASEC will meet with University Housing Director Jeff Novak and Wisconsin Union Director Mark Guthier early in the spring semester to discuss further.

  • Topics for Guests

Provost: communication on the faculty strategic hiring initiative, pay plan update, strategy around communication on pay plan and Engineering Building
VCFA: funding for faculty hiring program
ASM: update on activities in current academic year

Meeting adjourned at 3:05 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Jake Smith, Secretary of the Academic Staff

KeywordsASEC Minutes   Doc ID133303
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2023-12-11 14:09:12Updated2023-12-11 14:10:57
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0