Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 09-05-13

Approved 9-19-13
ASEC Minutes
2:00 – 4:30 p.m. Thursday, September 5, 2013
67 Bascom Hall

Members present: Marwa Bassiouni, Denny Hackel, Trish Iaccarino, Jim Maynard, Heather McFadden, Chair, Robert Newsom, Kevin Niemi, Jeff Shokler, Erin Silva, Vice Chair

The meeting was called to order at 2:02 p.m.

The minutes for August 27, 2013 were approved with corrections.

Guest: Eden Inoway-Ronnie, Provost Chief of Staff

The Provost officially requested nominations for the Pharmacy Dean search. 

General Reports
•    Chair: Heather M. reported that she will send out a welcome letter to all academic staff in the next few days.  She also reported on progress from the Bullying/Civility in the Workplace working group.  She asked for suggestions from ASEC on preliminary documents.

•    Secretary: Heather Daniels reported on a new timeline for the Excellence Awards.  The deadline will be moved up 10 days.  She also reported that nominations for the classified staff executive committee will be accepted starting Monday, and elections will be held in October.  Finally, she gave a brief summary about the Board of Regents meeting being held that day.

•    ASEC will devote the next three meetings to each academic staff governance priority identified during the priority planning meeting.  The Secretary’s office will invite standing committee chairs relevant to each priority to attend the meeting.

•    ASEC reviewed and approved a joint letter to be sent to all academic staff regarding governance, MASA and ASPRO. 

•    ASEC requested that the search and screen committee check box be removed from the Get Involved Qualtrics survey.  In addition, it was decided that that the Secretary’s office would request nominations for several search and screen committees at a time, rather than individual committees whenever possible.  

•    Heather M. will draft a response to Lori Berquam’s response to questions from ASEC regarding the mandatory alcohol training program.

•    A draft agenda for the Assembly Representatives and Alternates Orientation was distributed to ASEC.  Mary Johansen in the Secretary’s office will prepare a graphic showing how shared governance works.  In addition, the orientation will feature a panel of representatives that will share best practices as well as short presentations from the standing committees.

•    ASEC discussed Chancellor Blank’s upcoming visit. 

•    ASEC decided to use ‘What is your governance priority?’ as the question for Assembly introductions.

•    Next ASEC Meeting, September 19, 2013:  This meeting will begin early at 1:00 pm and end early at 3:30 pm.  Agenda items include ASEC Operating Procedures-for decision, October Assembly agenda, Discussion of Morale Priority, and Guest: Chancellor Blank.

•    Convene in Closed Session Pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c), and (f) to discuss appointments to the Advisory Committee on Budget Issues, Policies and Strategies, Budget Modeling Committee, and Committee on Retirement Issues.  (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

-    Motion to approve Kevin Niemi’s appointment to the Advisory Committee on Budget Issues, Policies and Strategies (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)
-    Motion to approve Michael Maroney’s appointment to the Retirement Issues Committee (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)
-    Motion to nominate Anne Gunther, Noel Radomski, and Russell Dimond to the Budget Modeling Committee (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

•    Reconvene in open session. (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Guest: Russell Dimond, Chair, Advisory Committee on Budget Issues, Policies and Strategies

Russell Dimond discussed the report on the Critical Compensation Fund (CCF) that will be presented at the Assembly meeting on Monday. 

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Submitted by Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff

KeywordsASEC Minutes   Doc ID33983
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2013-09-25 10:59:41Updated2020-07-13 15:28:37
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0