General Education Committee members

At its meeting of November 21, 1996 the University Academic Planning Council (UAPC) assigned the overall academic administration of the campus-wide General Education Requirements to the College of Letters and Science to act as trustee on behalf of all schools and colleges. The College of Letters and Science formed a General Education Committee to serve as an advisory body for this purpose. Dr. Elaine M. Klein (, L&S Associate Dean of Academic Planning, chairs this committee and coordinates General Education efforts for the campus.

The University General Education Committee has articulated the following operating procedures that facilitate its work on behalf of the University, in accordance with the authority delegated to it by the University Academic Planning Council.

2022-2023 Members of the UW-Madison General Education Committee:

Chair: Dr. Elaine M. Klein, Associate Dean, L&S Administration

Term Members:

Briana Burton, Bacteriology, Year 3 of 3

Judd Kinzley, History, Year 2 of 3

Amy Schultz, Digital Studies Certificate Program, Year 2 of 3

Sara McKinnon, Communication Arts, Year 2 of 3

Tracy Schroepfer, School of Social Work, Year 2 of 3

Physical Sciences (faculty member to be appointed)

Student Members:

Reilly Coon

Nathan Frazer

Ex Officio:

Sarah Barber, Assistant Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning

Kimbrin Cornelius, L&S Administration

Karen Evans-Romaine, GNS - Slavic (Communication Liaison)

Emily Hall, Writing Center and Writing Across the Curriculum

Kelley Harris, Cross-College Advising Service

Clare Huhn, Academic Planning and Institutional Research

Regina Lowery, Provost’s Office, Assessment Coordinator

Mari Magler, McBurney Disability Resource Center

Shirin Malekpour, L&S Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning Administration

Carren Martin, Center for the First-Year Experience

Nathan Phelps, First-Year Interest Groups (FIGs)

Sheila Stoeckel, Library & Information Literacy Instruction Program

Benedek Valko, Mathematics (Quantitative Reasoning Liaison)

Jim Wollack, Director, Testing and Evaluation Services

John Zumbrunnen, Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning

Assistant to the committee:

Cathy Yu, Teaching & Learning Administrative Assistant (L&S)

2022-2023 Members of the Ethnic Studies Subcommittee:

Chair: Jerome Camal, Anthropology, Term 1, Year 1


Michael Light, Sociology and Chican@ and Latin@ Studies, Year 3 of 3

Linn Posey-Maddox, School of Education, Education Policy Studies, Sociology, and Afro-Am Studies, Year 3 of 3

Theresa Delgadillo, English and Chican@ and Latin@ Studies, Year 2 of 3

Ex Officio:

Elaine Klein (Associate Dean, L&S Administration)

Nathan Phelps (Assistant Dean, Director, First Year Interest Groups)

Tori Richardson (Assistant Dean, L&S Academic Affairs)

Student Members:

Nadya Hayasi

Keywords:general education committee members, ethnic studies subcommittee members, ugec   Doc ID:58734
Owner:Cathy Y.Group:L&S KB
Created:2015-12-04 16:17 CDTUpdated:2022-09-28 10:45 CDT
Sites:L&S KB
Feedback:  0   0