Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 12-03-15

Approved 12-10-15
ASEC Minutes
2:00 – 3:20 p.m. Thursday, December 3, 2015
67 Bascom Hall

Members Present:  Bruno Browning; Aaron Crandall; Trish Iaccarino; Sarah Kuba; Heather Mc Fadden, Chair; Michael Moscicke; Robert Newsom; Kevin Niemi; Deb Shapiro

Guests: Darrell Bazzell, Barb Gerloff, Sarah Mangelsdorf, Jake Smith, Mark Walters

The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m.

The minutes of November 19, 2015, were approved as written.

General Reports
•    ASEC Chair Heather McFadden asked ASEC if they would like to invite the Chancellor’s new chief of staff, Matt Mayrl, to meet with them.  Heather M. and Heather D. met with Bob Lavigna regarding the reorganization of the human resources office.  In the UW System draft document regarding faculty layoffs, academic staff are not mentioned in point number four as a body to consult, even though students and faculty are mentioned.  ASPRO wrote the tenure task force about this issue.  
•    Secretary of the Academic Staff Heather Daniels reported that she met with Brian Deith regarding changes to ASPP for districting.  These changes would require a 100 academic staff signatures on a petition.  Brian will bring changes forward to ASEC.  Heather also met with the Personnel Policies and Procedures Committee.  They are looking at ways to streamline their work and concentrate on changes that require examination and discuss of issues rather than technical changes that could be done by other committees.  The committee tracker system is starting to be built out by DoIT.  The Ad Hoc Committee on Selection Criteria is finishing its work and should have something to ASEC before the end of January.  Lastly, Heather D. was made aware of an issue regarding department administrators in SMPH.  SMPH emailed all department chairs informing them that there would be a new dotted line reporting structure to the Chief Operating Officer.  Heather D. has discussed the issue with the Office of Human Resources.

Guests: Sarah Mangelsdorf, Provost
Sarah Mangelsdorf reported that the Tenure Task Force insisted on having another meeting.  This will be in late December.  She will make sure that academic staff are included in the final document.  ASEC also brought up the issue of effort reporting.  She will take the information from ASEC back to discuss with Darrell Bazzell and Michael Bernard-Donals.

Guest: Darrell Bazzell, Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration

Darrell Bazzell reported on campus assessment charges for IT licenses in response to an ASEC question on the common system charge.  ImageNow and CMS are UW-Madison specific costs; the rest of the costs are for UW System programs.  The costs are split equally between central campus funds and divisions. 

Darrell talked about the past shared governance budget committee and how it disbanded because they didn’t feel they were being useful.  The lack of knowledge of committee members and timeliness were the issues.  There could be a place for a committee to look at long-term budget planning including new revenue sources, etc.  The shared governance groups would need to put together a committee and decide on what power and authority would be given to this committee. 

Darrell Bazzell shared allocations for the current fiscal year based on the new budget model.  He is going to ask for a shared governance committee to look at how the model is working.  ASEC can continue appointments from the previous committee or appoint someone new.

ASEC raised the issue of effort reporting with Darrell Bazzell.  He would be happy to work on a policy or other means to address this issue. He also mentioned that a mechanism to address paying for ALRA (Annual Leave Reserve Account) leave from grants has been identified and will be implemented once changes are made in HRS.

•    Appeals Committee
ASEC reviewed the letter written to Heather McFadden regarding the suggestions for the appeals committee and process that were sent by a group of Assistant Deans and Directors.  Motion to respond from ASEC using the letter from the Appeals Committee as the basis for the response (Niemi).  Seconded.  Approved.  
•    Assembly Agenda
Motion to approve the resolution on dangerous weapons in campus buildings (Browning). Seconded. Approved.
Motion to approve the agenda for the December Academic Staff Assembly (Moscicke). Seconded. Approved.
•    Shared Governance Policy
ASEC reviewed a draft of the shared governance policy as well as Michael’s suggested edits.  There was a discussion of the enforceability of the policy document.  Motion to communicate to the shared governance committees to make changes to the document as a group with one representative from each group, with ASEC providing comments before the next ASEC meeting on December 10 (Moscicke).  Seconded. Approved.

Motion to Convene in Closed Session Pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c), and (f) to discuss appointments to Communications Committee, Mentoring Committee, Ad Hoc Committee on the Academic Calendar and nominations to Athletic Board and Director of the Arts Institute Search and Screen Committee. (Browning). Seconded. Approved.

Motion to convene in Open Session (Moscicke).  Seconded. Approved.


Motion to nominate Deb Shapiro, Benjamin Schultz, and Ralph Russo for the Arts Institute Director Search and Screen Committee (Newsom). Seconded. Approved.

Motion to appoint Christopher Barnes to the Mentoring Committee (Shapiro). Seconded. Approved.

Motion to appoint Tameka Porter to the Communications Committee (Kuba). Seconded. Approved.

Motion to appoint Quinn Fullenkamp to the Ad Hoc Committee on the Academic Calendar (Moscicke). Seconded. Approved.

Motion to nominate Jackie Hank to the Athletic Board (Moscicke). Seconded. Approved.

Meeting adjourned at 4:37 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff

KeywordsASEC Minutes   Doc ID58923
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2015-12-15 11:37:17Updated2020-07-13 15:34:42
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0