Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 03-29-18

Approved 04-05-18
ASEC Minutes
2:00 – 4:30 p.m. Thursday, March 29, 2018
53 Bascom Hall

Members Present: Bruno Browning; Aaron Crandall; Jenny Dahlberg; Beth Giles; Mallory Musolf; Kevin Niemi, chair; Deb Shapiro; Lindsey Stoddard Cameron

Guests: Nadine Connor, Megan Spurgeon

The meeting was called to order at 2:04 p.m.

The minutes of March 22, 2018, were approved.

Guest: Nadine Connor, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Nadine expressed her appreciation to the Ad Hoc Committee on Research Scientist Titles for its report and its recommendations for a research professor title series. The OVCRGE is supportive of the proposal overall. Nadine raised some potential concerns with ASEC, including funding. There was discussion on the recommended 5% of a research professor’s salary coming from the university general fund, with the notion that this might instead come from schools/colleges instead of central funding. The notion of the eligibility of research professors for intramural funding will also need further discussion. The ad hoc committee felt strongly about research professors’ ability to participate in opportunities like the fall competition and UW 2020. It was clarified that automatic PI status did not equate to permanent PI status. Nadine and ASEC also discussed language in the report around whether a core director might be considered for a research professor title. There was also discussion around the notion of rolling horizon appointments and whether multi-year appointments would be a better fit for this title, with a 3-year appointment being equivalent to a faculty probationary appointment. The next step for the research professor proposal is for it to be taken up as part of an “omnibus” committee that will look at all of the recommendations for various professorial titles and to take a final set of recommendations to the University Committee and the Faculty Senate.

General Reports
ASEC Chair Kevin Niemi was recently interviewed by a Cap Times reporter regarding the Title and Total Compensation Study. 

Deputy Secretary of the Academic Staff Jake Smith informed ASEC that the candidates for the CIO search would be announced next week and asked ASEC to provide their availability for shared governance sessions with the candidates. He also discussed the TTC study and mentioned that there were some documents that he had sent to ASEC for feedback by Friday, March 30. Jake announced that the DCS Course Grant program was on the verge of being announced, hopefully within the next 2-3 weeks.

Liaison Reports
Jenny Dahlberg reported that the Vet Med CASI had been discussing active shooter training, and have invited UWPD to come to a meeting to talk about what the training entails.

Lindsey Stoddard Cameron reported that the Law School CASI had had several other CASIs endorse their proposal for tuition benefits, and they forwarded the proposal to Mary Luther and others involved with the TTC Study.

Aaron Crandall reported new department chairs were coming into SMPH, and that the CASI was planning to meet with them at their chairs’ meetings.

•Years of Service Discussion
ASEC resumed discussion on this topic. The draft of the motion was updated to include the definition of academic staff years of service from ASPP 1.03. ASEC considered the differences between Extension’s resolution and the current draft of the Assembly motion. This topic is relevant when it comes to the notice period for layoffs and non-renewals. Patrick Sheehan was not able to attend this meeting but will be invited to the next ASEC meeting to provide his thoughts and input. ASEC agreed that the draft should be brought to the Assembly for a first reading, with a vote at the May meeting.

•April Assembly Agenda
Motion to approve the April Assembly Agenda (Dahlberg). Seconded. Approved.

Meeting adjourned at 3:31 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Jake Smith, Deputy Secretary of the Academic Staff

KeywordsAcademic Staff Executive Committee Minutes   Doc ID81466
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2018-04-06 13:16:25Updated2020-07-13 15:15:12
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0