Topics Map > Academic Staff Executive Committee (ASEC) > 2013-2014 > 12. June

Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 06-26-14

Approved 7-10-14

ASEC Minutes
2:00 – 4:30 p.m. Thursday, June 26, 2014
67 Bascom Hall

Members Present: Marwa Bassiouni; Bruno Browning; Trish Iaccarino; Jim Maynard; Robert Newsom; Kevin Niemi, Vice-Chair; Jeff Shokler

Guests: Paul DeLuca, Catharine DeRubeis, Russell Dimond, Steve Limbach, Steve Lund, Michael Moscicke, Jake Smith, Steve Stern, Ray Taffora

The meeting was called to order at 2:07 p.m.

The minutes of June 12, 2014 were approved.

Guest: Provost Paul DeLuca
Provost DeLuca briefly discussed amendments to documents at the Assembly and Senate. He thought having the ability in the room to show both the original document as well as the amended document at the same time might help this process.
There was a long discussion regarding the outage at DoIT last week. There were two backup sources of power, neither one started for unknown reasons. The staff did everything possible to bring things up as soon as they were able, and overall, it was a very good response. The situation does provide the opportunity to review the current configuration and make improvements.

Guest: Ray Taffora, Director of Legal Services
Ray introduced himself to ASEC and said that he regards ASEC as clients of legal services. He explained his approach to giving legal advice, and is interested in knowing ASEC’s priorities.

Guest: Steve Stern, Vice Provost for Faculty and Staff
Steve provided ASEC with some preliminary numbers for the Critical Compensation Fund (CCF) exercise. The results are vastly improved from last year. Many of the change implemented this past year were due to the academic staff analysis. The target was surpassed for both GPR and non-GPR funding. In addition, 71 academic staff at the senior level at the Category A maxima received adjustments.

Standing Committee Reports
Compensation and Economic Benefits Committee: Jenny Dahlberg reported that they are hoping to meet in July to start looking at the survey data. There may be interesting parallels between the CEBC survey and one conducted by ASEC.

General Reports
• No report from Vice Chair Kevin Niemi.
• Secretary of the Academic Staff Heather Daniels reported that the office is working on appointment letters for the new year. She also mentioned that the University Committee seemed open to forming a joint subcommittee on multiple roles when it was brought up by Jeff Russell and Mark Johnson in regards to
Educational Innovation. The Language Institute will be offering some professional development funds to academic staff, and these funds can be considered the match for Academic Staff Professional Development Grants. She also mentioned that there is an endowment account for academic staff in the UW Foundation.

• Instructional Limitations Cases
There was a discussion on how to collect specific anecdotes regarding academic staff who have been denied the opportunity to serve in multiple roles. There were suggestions to engage the CASIs and perhaps conduct a survey in the fall.
• Limited Appointments Participation in Academic Staff Governance
Bruno provided background on the Board of Regents rule that removed backup academic staff appointments from limited appointees. There was vigorous discussion about this issue, and the discussion will be continued at a future meeting.
• Next ASEC Meeting, July 10, 2014
− Limited appointments and governance (continued)
− Liaison assignments
− Shared governance letter
− Retreat planning
− Guests: Ed Van Gemert
Convened in Closed Session Pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c), and (f) to nominate or appoint members to the Academic Staff Appeals Committee, Health Care Advisory Committee, and Academic Staff Assembly for terms beginning July 1, 2014 as well as appointments to the Joint Ad Hoc Committee on Performance Management, and Joint Ad Hoc Committee on Faculty Supervision (Moved. Seconded. Approved)

Motion to appoint Andrew Ruis to the Health Care Advisory Committee. (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Motion to nominate Sunil Rao and Meredith Luschen to the Academic Staff Appeals Committee. (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Motion to nominate Melanie Schneider to the Academic Staff Appeals Committee. (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Motion to appoint continuing academic staff assembly representatives to the Academic Staff Assembly. (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Motion to appoint Jenny Hackel and Michael Moscicke to the Joint Ad Hoc Committee on Performance Management. (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Motion to appoint Laura Van Toll and Bruno Browning to the Joint Ad Hoc Committee on Faculty Supervision. (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Reconvened in Open Session (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Meeting adjourned at 4:38 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff

KeywordsASEC Minutes   Doc ID38057
OwnerJake S.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2014-02-28 09:59 CDTUpdated2020-07-13 15:26 CDT
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0