Topics Map > Academic Staff Executive Committee (ASEC) > 2021-2022 > 08. February

Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 02-03-22

Approved 02-10-22

ASEC Minutes

2:00 – 4:30 p.m. Thursday, February 3, 2022

Members Present: Donna Cole, Jenny Dahlberg; Tim Dalby, chair; Mallory Musolf; Lindsey Stoddard Cameron; Bill Tishler

Guests: Lesley Fisher, Karl Scholz

The meeting was called to order at 2:02 p.m.

The minutes of January 27 were approved.

General Reports

Tim Dalby, ASEC Chair, met with Adrian Lampron, ASM Chair, as part of the regular meeting between shared governance chairs. They discussed ASM’s work on organizing student shared governance at a Systemwide level and working with Vice Provost John Zumbrunnen on increased flexibility for students and for courses. Regarding the Chancellor search and screen process, it is anticipated that finalist visits will take place in early May. On Wednesday, Tim, Mallory, Jenny, and Jake met with Lucien Gerondeau from the Office of Strategic Consulting to provide feedback on lessons learned regarding the implementation of the TTC Project.

Jake Smith, Secretary of the Academic Staff, reported on a meeting that was held with UW’s State Relations team, wherein updates were provided on a number of bills that are in various stages of consideration by the Legislature. This year’s Academic Staff Institute will be held on April 13. At the February 7 meeting of the Faculty Senate, there will be a first reading of a motion to support the Assembly’s resolution on pay plan distribution. This will likely be up for a vote at the March Senate meeting. Jake will be attending interview sessions for the HR community and shared governance for the Director of Talent Management finalists. Jake met with Assistant Vice Provost Kelly Rupp regarding the latest iteration of the campus climate survey.

Liaison Reports

Stephanie Elkins reported on the recent meeting of the Librarians’ Assembly. Issues of consideration included masking in the libraries as well as the administration of Discretionary Compensation Funds and Performance Bonus Funds.

Guest: Karl Scholz, Provost

ASEC raised concerns brought forward by colleagues outside of Dane County regarding masking policies and lower vaccination rates in some areas of the state. Provost Scholz discussed how policies are attached to spaces as opposed to individual employees. ASEC encouraged the Provost to consider additional communication around this topic to our colleagues outside of campus.

Regarding the Office of Youth Protection, this office will be remaining within the Division of Continuing Studies. Interim Director Aphra Mednick has provided excellent knowledge and connections in this effort. The goal is to build structure in the place that is responsible for the majority of the activity in that area. While compliance is a factor, the majority of the work is taking place within DCS. The structure will be built so that there are clear links between the Office of Compliance, the Division of Continuing Studies, and the Provost Office.

On the question of his perspective on acclimation of new leadership, Provost Scholz discussed that the Chancellor’s Chief of Staff, Matt Mayrl, is focused on transition planning. VCFA Chief of Staff John Horn is doing the same for the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration position.

Provost Scholz thanked ASEC for its feedback on the campus climate survey. The Provost Office has made improvements to the survey draft based on this feedback, as well as from a number of other stakeholders. The intended window for distribution of this survey is from March 29 – April 19.

Provost Scholz updated ASEC on working groups formed within Deans Council on a number of issues. Some ASEC members recently had a productive meeting with the subset of deans focused on diversity efforts for staff. Collaborations are ongoing in these areas. The metrics group is working on the right location for a succinct set of indicators to measure campus-wide progress. The best practices group has focused on the work of the associate deans/chief diversity officers within schools/colleges/divisions. Chief Diversity Officer LaVar Charleston and his office are doing a great deal in this space as well.

On the topic of some requests for hybrid classes, Provost Scholz discussed the different ways in which in-person classes and remote classes are structured. The desire to have both is understood, but this would be asking instructors to double their efforts. We will continue not to ask instructors to teach in dual modalities for the same course. Instructors need to be accommodating to students who aren’t able to attend classes. Administration continues to discuss these issues with ASM, as well as with instructors in the context of flexibility.

Motion to Convene in Closed Session Pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c), and (f) to Discuss Appointments to TTC Appeals Panels, the Committee for Women in the University, and the Districting and Representation Committee (Dahlberg). Seconded. Approved.

Motion to Reconvene in Open Session (Dahlberg). Seconded. Approved.


·       Nomination – for vote

Motion to appoint Jenna Alsteen to the Committee for Women in the University and Max Coller to the Districting and Representation Committee (Dahlberg). Seconded. Approved.

Motion to appoint Amihan Huesmann, Stephanie Trigsted, and Chelsea Wimmer (Academic Services and Student Experience); Kristin Larson (Advancement); Heather Simmons (Animal Care Services); Jason Timm and Veronica Scott (Compliance, Legal, and Protection); Pamela Barrett (Facilities and Capital Planning); Sharon Gehl and Michael Moll (Health and Wellness Services); Erin Cook, Jessica Liegel, and Samantha Noordhoek (Human Resources); Steve Devoti, Alice Spalitta, and Andrew Turner (Information Technology); Stephanie Elkins (Public Broadcasting); Jacalyn McHugh, Scott Nolin, and Dagna Sheerar (Research); Jenny Dahlberg and Molly Mitchell (Sponsored Programs, Grants, and Contracts); and J. Richard Freese, Nathan Jung, and Parthy Schachter (Teaching and Learning) to the TTC Appeals Panels (Stoddard Cameron). Seconded. Approved.

·       February Assembly Meeting Agenda – for vote

Motion to approve the February Assembly Meeting Agenda (Stoddard Cameron). Seconded. Approved.

·       Topics for Guests

OHR – TTC updates (titles in review, appeals numbers), update on benefits component; access to lessons learned report, compensation connection with work modality (different structures based on remote/hybrid/in-person)

Meeting adjourned at 4:39 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Jake Smith, Secretary of the Academic Staff

KeywordsASEC Minutes   Doc ID116710
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2022-02-11 15:42:12Updated2022-02-11 15:49:18
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0