Topics Map > Academic Staff Executive Committee (ASEC) > 2014-2015 > 11. May

Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 05-28-15

Approved 6-11-15
ASEC Minutes
2:00 – 4:00 p.m. Thursday, May 28, 2015
67 Bascom Hall

Members Present:  Marwa Bassiouni; Bruno Browning; Heather McFadden, Chair; Michael Moscicke; Robert Newsom

Guests: Mark Connolly, Sarah Mangelsdorf, Jake Smith

The meeting was called to order at 2:05 p.m.

The minutes of May 21, 2015, were approved with no changes.

Standing and Ad Hoc Committee Reports
Ad Hoc Committee on Instructional Titles

Mark Connolly reported that the committee has met twice.  They reviewed the charge and assigned work at the first meeting.  At the second meeting, they reviewed what was learned so far.  They feel that they need to know more about the process by which titles were adopted.  They also want to learn some more about the honorific teaching professor title that failed to receive enough votes in the Faculty Senate.

Guest: Provost Sarah Mangelsdorf
Provost Mangelsdorf discussed the possible changes to the Chancellor Search and Screen process.  She felt that broad representation through a larger committee was better than a smaller, narrower committee.  Regarding legislative changes to Chapter 36, she has not heard anything more.  Provost Mangelsdorf will also follow up with Bob Lavigna and Darrell Bazzell regarding the Category A maxima resolution that was passed by the Assembly in May.
Provost Mangelsdorf talked through the process of changing instructor titles at Northwestern.  She will be happy to meet with Mark Connolly and the committee regarding her experience.

General Reports
•    ASEC Chair Heather McFadden reported she and Kevin Niemi met with Brian Vaughan regarding the Board of Regents proposed policy for Search and Screen Committees for Chancellors.  
•    Secretary of the Academic Staff Heather Daniels reported the conference for research academic staff has 200 registrants.  They are looking for volunteers to assist the day of the conference.  Secondly, Mark Walters was collecting information regarding the Category A academic staff maxima.

•    FPP Chapter 6 Proposed Changes-Next steps
Heather McFadden proposed that an ad hoc committee be formed to look at the changes.  Michael, Bruno and Laura Van Toll volunteered to serve.  Once this group has recommendations, then academic staff can reach out to the other governance groups.
•    Priorities Survey
ASEC looked at a preliminary analysis of the survey.  The free responses still need to be tabulated.  Jake Smith will do this.  The data collected by the DRC and CEBC questions should be sent to those committees.
•    ASEC Chair Selection Process
Heather Daniels will send an email out to ASEC members soliciting nominations for chair and vice chair.  The vote for chair and vice chair will take place at the June 11 meeting.
•    Board of Regents Chancellor Search and Screen Policy
ASEC considered a draft response now that the deadline for responses was extended until Monday, June 1.  Several additions and changes were considered.  An updated letter was agreed upon.  Motion to send the letter from ASEC as a committee rather than members of the committee.  Seconded.  Motion approved.  
•    Next ASEC Meeting, June 11, 2015 – for decision
-Academic Staff Governance Planning Meeting Discussion
-Search and Screen Criteria Discussion
-Priorities Survey Results
Convene in Closed Session Pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c), and (f) to discuss nominations and appointments to Academic Staff Appeals Committee, Distinguished Prefix Committee, Campus Diversity and Climate Committee, Committee on Office for Equity and Diversity, Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Issues Committee, Health Care Advisory Committee, Information Technology Committee, Lakeshore Nature Preserve Committee, Lectures Committee, Research, Safety and Compliance Committee, Student Academic Misconduct Committee, Student Hearing Examiners, Student Non-Academic Misconduct Committee, Committee on Undergraduate Recruitment, Admissions and Financial Aid (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Reconvened in Open Session (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Motion to approve the appointment or nominate the following academic staff members: Tom Tabone, Chris Schappel and Michelle Curtis to the Appeals Committee; Lynn Haynes, Jean Heitz, Larry Ashmun and Ruth Olson to the Distinguished Prefix Committee; Timothy Markle to the Access and Accommodation in Instruction Committee; Carrie Kruse and Claudia Mosley to the Campus Diversity and Climate Committee; Steven Kosciuk to the Office for Equity and Diversity Committee; Karen Knipschild to the Commission on Fraternities and Sororities; Kelly Krein to GLBT Issues Committee; Kim Pinch to the Health Care Advisory Committee; Jennifer Bonifas to the Information Technology Committee; Jason Weitzman to the Labor Code Licensing Advisory Committee; Matilde Urrutia to the Lakeshore Nature Preserve Committee; Antje Petty to the Lectures Committee; Diane Wilkinson to the Research, Safety and Compliance Committee; Emily Tarter and Cindy Holzmann to the Student Academic Misconduct Hearing Panel; Katie Bleier and Rebekah Pare to the Student Hearing Examiners; Joanna Gurstelle to the Student Non-Academic Misconduct Hearing Panel; and Alison Rice to the Committee on Undergraduate Recruitment, Admissions, and Financial Aid.  Seconded.  Motion passed.

Meeting adjourned at 4:12 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff

KeywordsASEC Minutes   Doc ID52433
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2015-06-12 14:10:02Updated2020-07-13 15:26:00
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0