Topics Map > Communications Committee (CC) > 2016-2017

Communications Committee Minutes 09-19-16

Academic Staff Communications Committee Minutes
1 p.m., Monday, Sept. 19, 2016
54 Bascom Hall

Members present: Matthew Call, Chair; Diane Doering, Jennifer Garrett, Emily Kite, Peter Kleppin, Pamela O’Donnell, Diane Stojanovich
Members absent: Jan Klawitter, Nicholas Schmuhl

A quorum was present and Chairman Call called the meeting to order at 1 p.m.

1.    Introductions
Members introduced themselves and their respective College/Unit as follows:
Matthew Call, Population Health
Diane Doering, CALS
Jennifer Garrett, Nursing
Emily Kite, Law
Peter Kleppin, UW Communications
Pamela O’Donnell, College Library
Diane Stojanovich, Pharmacy

2.    Committee charges 2016-17
Call attended the Academic Staff Executive Committee annual Committee Chairs meeting. The chairs reviewed existing committee charges, existing projects/initiatives and their status. No new projects or initiatives were identified. The Chairs did discuss the HR redesign and newly implemented performance evaluation process. To obtain feedback, they suggested a survey to Academic Staff (AS). Call shared the following summary of discussion and recommendations:
•    HR System survey
i.    Work in conjunction with other Committees
ii.    Release through email
a.    AS should be on top of problems if they start
b.    Will assign ASEC member to CASIs, as a way to gather feedback
c.    Not a lot of AS have had regular reviews, ASEC wants to know what’s going on, get a baseline
d.    Simple survey, i.e. Did you have one, Did it cover what you thought it would? Do you feel good/bad about it?
e.    Communications Committee to own, working through CEBC for language/concerns

Members discussed and the consensus was that Compensation and Economic Benefits Committee (CEBC) would provide guidance in creation and distribution of the survey. Communications Committee would assist with review and editing of the survey instrument. Call will serve as the liaison to the CEBC.

•    Semester emails to Academic Staff
i.    Review method for content gathering, design, distribution

Members discussed and the consensus was to use the same process as the past year. The timeline would be soliciting information in mid-October, edit and review in late October, with an estimated email distribution in early November.

ii.    Review Committee assignments
Members reviewed the Committee assignments and consensus was that all would remain the same, with the addition of Emily serving as liaison to the Communications Committee. Assignments are as follows:
    1. Academic Staff Executive Committee – Matthew
    2. Communications Committee – Emily
    3. Compensation and Economic Benefits Committee (CEBC) – Matthew
    4. Districting and Representation – Jan
    5. HR Design – Peter
    6. Mentor Committee – Nicholas
    7. Nominating Committee – Pamela
    8. Personnel Policies and Procedures Committee – Jennifer
    9. Professional Development and Recognition Committee (PDRC) – Diane S

•    Showcase Poster
i.    Identify more events to display
Call shared that ASEC was pleased with the poster and suggested the Committee discuss other ideas/use for the poster. One suggestion was having it available for OHR staff and possible display at classes, workshops, etc.

•    Other tasks
i.    Effort Certification article for newsletter and/or website
Jenny Dahlberg, ASEC Member, will work with Communications committee member(s).

ii.    Tuition reimbursement article for newsletter and/or website
Stephanie Kutz (PDRC), will work with Communications committee member(s).

3.    Standing meeting time/day/place
Members discussed a standing date/time of the 2nd Friday of the Month at Noon. Next meeting will be Friday, October 14, 2016.

4.    Adjourn
Meeting adjourned at 1:37 p.m.
Respectfully submitted,
Diane Stojanovich

KeywordsCC Minutes   Doc ID68037
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2016-10-25 13:12:02Updated2020-07-13 15:06:31
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0