Topics Map > Campus Services > WiscList
WiscList Classlist - Saving a Classlist
Once a semester has ended, instructors may save their Classlists. You will receive a notification email from Classlist admins when the save option is available.
Benefits of Saving a Classlist
- Ability to keep in contact with students after the term has ended:
- All saved Classlists will use the WiscList interface at admin.lists.wisc.edu.
- Classlists that are not saved are deleted from our servers.
- Access to additional features:
- Changing security settings (guest administration, posting options, etc.).
- Adding and removing contacts from the list.
- Your Classlist becomes a standard WiscList. See more information about WiscList at https://it.wisc.edu/services/email-lists-wisclist.
How to Save a Classlist
Note: This feature will only become available at the end of the term. You will receive an email from Classlist admins notifying you that you can save your lists, and you will typically have 2-3 months to take action.
- Log in to WiscList Admin and click Classlists.
- Click on the name of the Classlist you would like to save.
- Click Save Classlist at the bottom of the Manage Classlist menu.
- Information about the saving process will appear and you will be prompted to save the list.
- Click Save Classlist.
Information about your course and its students (including your Classlist) is stored in a site folder specific to the term, which is deleted when the semester ends. When you save your Classlist, it is moved from its current folder to our main WiscList site folder and becomes subject to the WiscList deletion policy. A WiscList is deleted every 13 months if no messages have been sent to the list during that time.
Because your saved Classlist is effectively a WiscList, you will notice that you have access to more features than you did during the semester. The following documents explain these features: