Office 365 - Transfer Apple Notes Between Accounts

This document explains what happens to a user's Notes in the Apple operating system when removing their account as well as recommendations to ensure that users retain their previous notes.

Important: Notes can only be transferred if the original account they were created in is still configured for the machine the notes were written on.

Considerations when removing an account

Steps to transfer Notes

  1. Open the Notes program.
  2. From the top left of your screen, click the Notes drop-down menu and select accounts
    • Note: you can also access this accounts page by going to system preferences -> internet accounts
  3. Click on the + icon in the bottom left of the window to add a new account.
  4. Configure the new account you wish to transfer notes to and make sure to check the box which enables Notes for that account.
  5. In your Notes program, you should see at least two accounts in the left-hand column as well as an on my mac section. Select the account you wish to transfer notes from and then highlight the notes which you would like to transfer.
  6. Drag and drop the notes onto the account (in the left-hand column) you want the notes to be transferred to.
  7. Your notes should now be listed under your new account. If you wish, you may remove the account you transferred the notes from