KB User's Guide - Users Tab - Adding a User

This document explains how to add a user to your KB and grant them appropriate permissions. In the spirit of Best Practices, KB Admins control permissions to their KB Site. However, please be mindful that any user with the Users permission enabled may make changes to User permissions.

The "New User" Screen


Description of Fields

Fill in the following fields, an asterisk denotes that the field is required:

Which Checkboxes Should I Check?



Desired Access: Check These Boxes:
To grant a user read only access to an internal KB (user can read docs on the KB but cannot create or edit documents). Check Active and iKB.
Do NOT check oDocs or gDocs.
To grant a user permission to create and edit only documents they own: Check oDoc
(as well as Active and iKB (for internal sites))
To grant a user permission to create and edit documents owned by anyone in the group: Check gDoc
(as well as Active and iKB, and probably oDoc)
To grant a user permission to access the Topics, News, SitePref, Users, Asst, or Stats tabs: Check the corresponding checkbox.
NOTE: Managers like to review stats, so be sure to give them access to this page.
To grant a user permission to publish documents (make documents active on either internal or external KB sites):
Check Publish
To grant a user permission to test beta features on your KB Site (Please refer to KB Users Guide - Users Tab - Tester Role for more information) : Check Tester
To be considered a KB Administrator Check all available permissions
(Active, iKB, ... Publish)

  • Click on Add User button.
  • When Entering a New User, Fields May Auto-Fill

    If you begin to add a user who already belongs to another KB subsite, all their information will auto-fill. A line of text identifying what that user's current default group is will appear next to the NetID field, which will read FirstName LastName's default group space: KB Subsite Name .

    KB Admins will easily determine the other KB group in which their new user exists. The KB Admin can then contact that Group, should the user need to be removed (e.g. if the default group list a a department where the new user had worked with in the past). Or, KB Admin(s) may ask their new user to update their own Default KB space.

    | KB User's Guide - Users Tab |

    See Also: