This document addresses many frequently asked questions.
Only after a document has been activated will it be visible on the KB site. After you have finished working on a document, you need to make sure the document is activated following the procedure appropriate for your group. In some groups, this is done by setting the status of the KB doc to "In Review", near the bottom of the screen. You should make sure you follow whatever procedure your group is using for reviewing documents.
Follow the process outlined in KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - How to Create a Document.
To give a new user access to the site, you must check the iKB box next to their name under the 'Users' tab.
See also: KB User's Guide - Users Tab - Adding a User
The admin for the second (or 'other') site must activate the doc in order for it to be visible.
A doc should be in "In Progress" mode while it is being updated or edited. Once it is ready to be approved and activated, it should be changed to "In Review" so that it appears in the queue for Admin approval.
This means that you do not have the necessary privileges to edit this document. If you believe that you should have access, contact your group Admin.
You can change the default group by going into the Home Tab in KB Admin Tools and clicking the Edit link found in the User Profile section of the page (lower right link on the left side of the screen). This opens the My Profile screen. From there you should see a section labeled Default group. Any groups you have access to will be listed in the drop down menu. Select your desired default group from the drop down menu and click Update at the bottom of the screen. The next time you open KB Admin Tools it will open with the new default group as your selected Group space in the upper right hand corner. You can also change your Default tab from this window.
To transfer document ownership:
Local Authorization can be used to grant viewing and authoring access to users without NetIDs.
To set up non-NetID user to use local authorization:
There are two ways to accomplish this:
There may be several ways to share a document depending on whom you are sharing it with.
To move a doc from Group A, User A, to Group B, User B:
View document. It should now be owned by User B in Group B. Write Access will be Sharing groups. Verify that Site Access and Write Access are set correctly.
Return to Group A's KB site to verify that the document is in the correct state there . Perhaps the document is still being shared with the original group or possibly the document should be removed from the original site all together. The document may be in In Review on the sharing site (Group A). Correct this as desired. Activate the document on the sharing site as necessary.
Be aware that the attachments folder does, indeed, move with the KB Doc. Once a document has moved to a new group the attachments and images no longer exist in the old group's folder.
There is no limit on how many custom modules you can create. Unwanted custom modules can be deleted via the same SitePref > Content Modules screen.