Topics Map > Academic & Curricular Administration
Topics Map > Administration & Governance > Governance & Committees

L&S Curriculum Committee: Role and Members

The L&S Curriculum Committee advises the Dean on the integrity of the undergraduate degree requirements and changes to requirements for L&S majors. The committee's work is conducted with an emphasis on safeguarding the principles of degree programs in the liberal arts and sciences.

The L&S Curriculum Committee

The L&S Curriculum Committee serves as the primary college-level committee on matters related to courses, academic programs, and college-wide curricular concerns, as well as advise the Dean on current curricular issues in the college. This includes

  • reviewing proposals to add, change, or delete L&S courses; add or change breadth, level, or other designations, including the Liberal Arts and Science designation, which allows non-L&S courses to count toward the L&S degree requirements.
  • reviewing program proposals, including changes to L&S undergraduate and graduate programs (including majors, certificates, capstone certificates and graduate minors), The committee also reviews and provides provides advice to the L&S APC about the proposed curriculum for new programs.
  • overall consideration of the integrity of the undergraduate degree requirements and changes to requirements for L&S majors.
  • adding, changing or removing of L&S curricular policies (often done in consultation with L&S APC and the Dean)
  • at the Dean's request, the committee considers other issues related to undergraduate education for purposes of advising him, the faculty and L&S departments and programs, or the L&S division of Student Academic Affairs.
2022-2023 Membership:
Professor Jeremy Morris (Communication Arts) chairs the committee for 2022-2023

Term Members:
Scott Burkhardt, History, Year 2 of 3
Alicia Cerezo, Spanish and Portuguese, Year 2 of 3
Jeremy Morris, Communication Arts, Year 3 of 3 (Chair)
Michael Swift, Computer Science, Year 2 of 3
Monica Turner, Integrative Biology, Year 3 of 3
Melanie Jones, Psychology, Year 2 of 3
Xiaoxia Shi, Economics, Year 1 of 3
April Haynes, History, Year 1 of 3

Ex Officio:
Kimbrin Cornelius, L&S Administration (Teaching and Learning Administration)
Zach McLeod, L&S Administration (Teaching and Learning Administration)
Elaine Klein, L&S Administration (Academic Planning)
Christopher Lee, L&S Student Academic Affairs (Undergraduate Academic Services)
Shirin Malekpour, L&S Administration (Teaching and Learning Administration)
Michael J. Pflieger, L&S Student Academic Affairs (Undergraduate Academic Services, DARS)
Sara Stephenson, L&S Honors Program (Honors, Curriculum)

Student Members:
Leigh Keller-Chicoine
Briana Medina

Questions about the L&S Curriculum Committee can be directed to Zachary McLeod,

See Also:

Keywords:curriculum, governance, faculty, committee   Doc ID:19992
Owner:Zachary M.Group:L&S KB
Created:2011-08-26 08:03 CSTUpdated:2022-09-09 14:26 CST
Sites:L&S KB
Feedback:  0   0