Now available: Move folders from My Drive to Shared drives
Posted: 2023-04-21 15:21:24 Expiration: 2024-04-29 15:21:24
You can now drag/drop folders from My Drive to Shared drives. Previously, this option was only available for files.
Shared drives are special folders in Google Drive used to store, search and access files with a team. Shared drive files belong to the team instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay in the shared drive so your team can keep sharing information and work anywhere, from any device.
Requirements to move folders from My Drive to shared drives
- Must be a “manager” for the selected shared drive.
- Must be the owner of the folder that is being moved from My Drive to a shared drive.
- All members of the shared drive can view the contents of the folder, including previously hidden files. (Hidden files occur in My Drive when you share a folder with someone but remove access to a specific file in that folder).
- Users who had a folder directly shared with them before the folder was moved can still access the folder.
- Users with “editor” access to the folder before the move will have “content manager” access after.
- Users who had indirect access to a folder and its contents through access to a parent folder may lose access to the folder. Indirect file permissions inherited from parent folder permissions aren’t copied.
If you have any questions, please contact the DoIT Help Desk.
-- UW Google Apps: Christina Gomez