WiscWeb - WordPress UW Theme - Site or Page Visibility Options

This document will walk you through the options that are available to adjust the visibility of your site or particular pages.

Before making sweeping changes to a site, it may be best that you save your current content. By exporting the site, you would be able to import back any content you might need by using an XML file. For this, please follow the instructions located here:

WiscWeb - WordPress UW Theme - Exporting a WordPress Site

Set All Pages to Private

If you want to edit a site while keeping all of your content available to the public, you would need to set all new pages/posts to private until you want to publish them. 

This would also be beneficial if you have relatively little content on your site: setting all pages to private would keep the site live while allowing you to edit.

WiscWeb - WordPress UW Theme - Publishing Views for Pages and Posts

Hide Site from Search Engines

If your main source of traffic is through search engines, you can update your site to be non-indexed.

Archive Project

This option would be best if you meet any of the following criteria:
  • You want to remodel the site privately and the current public info can come down
  • You would like the site to be unavailable to the public
  • You would like users to be made aware that the site is currently unavailable
  • You're unsure if you want to delete the site, but would not like it public at this time
  • You would like the site to be taken down for now but may want it back up in the future
Though the public site appears archived, the administrators and editors would have the same view on the internal site. The WiscWeb team can easily archive the site and users can continue publishing pages and posts as needed. Below is a screenshot of how the site would appear to the public: 

archive site

Unpublishing the Domain

This would publish to the wiscweb URL again (sitename.wiscweb.wisc.edu) and would no longer be live. However, if someone goes to the production domain, it will not have any note for the customer indicating what happened to it.

Because of this, the site will still be available to users who have the wiscweb URL and for users who are editing the content of the site. 

Deleting the Site and Domain

This option would delete all content from the site and the site domain would no longer exist. To recreate the site, you would have to request a new project and create/import the content again.

For this option, please send an email to cms-support@doit.wisc.edu and request a full site deletion.

See Also: