Kaltura - Privacy settings for Kaltura MediaSpace channels (UW-Madison)

This document provides directions on how to change privacy settings to channels in Kaltura MediaSpace.


Kaltura MediaSpace channel privacy settings

When creating a new channel in Kaltura MediaSpace you will need to select a Privacy setting. More information is available in Kaltura's document Creating and Managing Channels in Kaltura MediaSpace. These setting are described below.

Privacy SettingChannel
OpenAll logged in users can view content, but only admin-role users and channel members can contribute content.
RestrictedAll logged in users can view content, but only channel members can contribute content.
PrivateOnly channel members can view and contribute content.
Shared RepositoryOnly channel members can view and contribute content; content may be published to other channels, according to publishing entitlements.
Public, Restricted
Anyone can view content (including anonymous not logged-in users). Only channel members can contribute content according to their publishing entitlement

Selecting privacy setting on a channel

  1. Click your name in the upper right and choose My Channels:
    A screenshot showing the user having clicked on their username in the upper right corner of Kaltura MediaSpace. The cursor hovers over "My Channels" which has been outlined in red to point it out.
  2. Click Create Channel or mouse over an existing channel and click the pencil icon in the lower left an existing channel to edit its publishing settings.
  3. Select an appropriate Privacy setting:
    Open - All logged in users can view content, but only admin-role users and channel members can contribute content.
    Restricted - All logged in users can view content, but only channel members can contribute content.
    Private - Only channel members can view and contribute content.
    Shared Repository - Only channel members can view and contribute content; content may be published to other channels, according to publishing entitlements.
    Public, Restricted - Anyone can view content (including anonymous not logged-in users). Only channel members can contribute content according to their publishing entitlement
  4. Select Options. Options include:
    • Moderate content (Media will not appear in channel until approved by channel manager) -
    • Enable comments in channel -Users with access to the channel can comment in it.
    • Enable subscription to channel -
  5. Select Categories you want to include the category in if you have access to a category. Most users do not have access to categories.
  6. Click the Save button:
    Placeholder text