This document explains the new Blackboard Collaborate (BBC) storage policy for the Spring 2021 semester, going forward. This archive effort is part of a new media management process that the University of Wisconsin System implemented to address dramatic increases in the volume of recordings and strict vendor limits on allocated storage.
Blackboard Collaborate recordings set to allow public access (the default setting) will be copied to Kaltura MediaSpace via a nightly process.
- They will be deleted from Blackboard's servers 45 days after creation.
- Recordings set to not allow public access will not be copied to Kaltura MediaSpace, but will still be deleted from Blackboard's servers 45 days after creation.
- Users can recover a deleted BBC recording by submitting a ticket to Blackboard Collaborate Support within 30 days of the deletion.
See Blackboard Collaborate Ultra (Recordings) - Media Management Process (updated) for more information about UW System’s Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Recording policy, which includes UW-Madison.
See the Canvas - Course Media and Course Media Settings tools document for more information on how to manage BBC recordings.