SIS/Building Your Schedule of Classes - Deleting vs. Canceling Sections

logo

This document outlines the differences between deleting and canceling a section.


Deleting sections vs canceling sections and appropriate use cases

Delete if

Schedule of Classes has not been published. A class section should only be deleted if the Schedule of Classes for that term has not been published yet in the Course Search & Enroll app.

Cancel if

Schedule of Classes has been published. Canceling a section after Schedule of Classes for that term has been published in the Course Search & Enroll app will ensure students receive correct information on the web enrollment system.

Never delete a section after the Schedule of Classes has been published; doing so will remove the class number, resulting in errors for web enrollment and student confusion.

Important: You will have to work with Curricular Services to cancel a section with enrollment.


How to delete a section before the Schedule of Classes is published

  1. Navigate to the course in Maintain Schedule of Classes

  2. Open the section to be deleted

  3. Click the “-” button on the top right corner of the section

  4. Click [Save]


How to cancel a section after the Schedule of Classes is published

  1. Navigate to Maintain Schedule of Classes

  2. One the Enrollment Control tab, in the Class Status menu, select “Canceled section.”

  3. Click the yellow cancel class button

  4. Click [Save]