Learn@UW - Delete Icon Displays on Chats for Roles Without Permissions to Delete Them

In the Chat tool, 'Delete' icons (resembling trash cans) display at the top and at the bottom of listed chats even for users of a role without permissions to delete that specific type of chat.

Typically, students only have permissions to delete their Personal Chats at the Organization Level.

If you do not have permissions to delete a specific type of chat, you cannot select any of the listed chats for deletion and the chats are protected from being deleted. However, you can still click the Delete icon which will bring up a pop-up window that displays the message "Please select at least one chat". This can be misleading.

Example Student View of General Chats Students Cannot Delete

Chat Delete Icons

This is a known issue.




Keywords:brightspace learn@uw learnuw d2l desire2learn delete icon trash can list chat role permission known issue   Doc ID:12001
Owner:Susan D.Group:Learn@UW Utility
Created:2009-08-18 19:00 CDTUpdated:2015-05-18 15:08 CDT
Sites:DoIT Help Desk, DoIT Tech Store, Learn@UW Madison, Learn@UW Utility
Feedback:  0   0