WiscWeb CMS - Overview of Workflows for End Users
This document explains how workflows work within the CMS. Workflows are set up so that a process exists between the time that a user makes a change, and the time that the change is published.
Submitting to Workflow
When editing a website in CMS, there are two main statuses that content can have: it might be in draft mode, or it may be released.
When a user edits some page's content (e.g. its title) or edits some block's content (e.g. a paragraph of text), s/he will cause the content to be in draft mode. While in draft mode, the content will not be publishable by the site nor will other users be able to edit the content.
Note that content which is in draft mode is not necessarily a bad situation: perhaps a user cannot finish some modifications prior to leaving work, and needs to come back to them another time. However, if users forget about their content that is saved in draft mode, then that can be problematic.
In order to make their content available to be published, as well as for others to be able to modify it, users need to submit their changes to the CMS workflow. What is meant by "workflow" in this case is not dependent upon whether a structural or content workflow is set up – even if no explicit workflow is set up on the site, users still need to go through the process of submitting their changes.