WiscWeb CMS - Deleting a Page

This document explains how to delete pages and blocks from a site.

  1. In SmartEdit, go to the page that you want to delete, and click the Open Page red dot.

    open page red dot
  2. In the work area, Right Click and select Delete Page.

    right click and select delete page

    If delete page is not one of the menu's options, you will need to first release the page. You can do this by Right Clicking and selecting Release Page.

    releasing a page
  3. On the following screen, notice that it tells you how many places that the page is connected. Be certain that you are OK with all of the places that this page's deletion will affect.

    Click Yes to confirm the delete.

    confirm deletion

    You may get a screen that says, You are not authorized for this page. Simply click on the SmartEdit button at the top of your screen to return to the origin point of your site.

The deleted page is no longer accessible on the site, and is put into the Recycle Bin, accessible only to Administrators in SmartTree. If you need to retrieve a deleted page, contact your site's Administrator.

How to Delete Blocks

Deleting an individual content block from a page is a similar procedure to deleting an entire webpage. Instead of opening the Foundation page, though, you instead open up that particular block for editing prior to bringing up the context menu.

  1. In SmartEdit, go to the page that contains the block you want to delete, and click to open that block for editing. For example, click the equivalent of the Open Block red dot. (Different blocks have different wording for this red dot.)

    deleting a block
  2. Follow steps 2 and 3 in the above instructions in order to delete the block from that page and all pages on the site.

See Also:




Keywords:delete page block   Doc ID:15053
Owner:Ryan H.Group:WiscWeb CMS
Created:2010-09-06 19:00 CDTUpdated:2014-12-02 12:34 CDT
Sites:DoIT Help Desk, WiscWeb CMS
Feedback:  0   0