Moodle - Using Blackboard Collaborate

How to incorporate the Blackboard Collaborate function into your Moodle course

What is Blackboard Collaborate?

Blackboard Collaborate is a UW-System supported service that is free for use by UW faculty, staff, and students(within the appropriate use policy). 

Collaborate is basically a virtual classroom/conference room that allows you to:

  • Schedule and deliver classes using an Internet-based, real-time virtual classroom that includes VoIP(which allows you to talk to students and students to talk to you), shared whiteboards, PowerPoint import, public and private chat, application sharing, breakout rooms(these allow you to separate the main conference into smaller groups), and much more.
  • Record Blackboard Collaborate sessions for those who missed the live session, assign grade value for attendance and specify if the meeting is public or private.
  • Automatically populate Moodle calendar with each session as a course or user event.
  • Facilitate vocal instruction, collaboration, personalized coaching, and assessment. 
Collaborate can be used for lectures, supplementary lectures, office hours, or any other instances you would like to be able to have a virtual classroom setting.

For more information on Blackboard Collaborate visit the Moderator's Guide in the Blackboard Library.

Integration into Moodle

When using Blackboard Collaborate in Moodle, there are three options for implementation into your course:
  1. Collaborate Classic
  2. Collaborate Ultra
  3. As an LTI module 
Below are explanations on each option:
  1. Collaborate Classic: This option works best for larger classes (>100 people). In most other cases, this option should be avoided. 
  2. Collaborate Ultra: This option is simplest and preferred. It offers options for Office Hours, Lectures, Recording Sessions and more. 
  3. LTI Module: This option is similar to Collaborate Ultra, but offers a greater degree of configuration by the instructor.
For more information on options 1 and 2, please see this article: https://en-us.help.blackboard.com/Collaborate/Ultra/Administrator/020_Choose_Experience


      To use Collaborate Classic or Ultra from Moodle:
      1. Go to the course page in Moodle you wish to incorporate Blackboard Collaborate into
      2. Click Turn Editing On in the top right corner
      3. Click Add an Activity or Resource under your topic of preference
      4. When the list of addable resources pops up, select Collaborate Classic OR Collaborate Ultra
      5. You can then customize your Blackboard Collaborate session
      6. Click on your finished Blackboard Collaborate session on the course homepage, and click Join Session
      For Collaborate Classic, the launch process is as follows:
      1. A .jnlp file will automatically download onto your computer, open this file once it's finished downloading
      2. It may tell you that the application's digital signature cannot be verified, but click Run anyways
      3. It may also ask you to customize your connection settings, feel free to customize this however you please
      4. You should then have access to your Blackboard Collaborate session!
      To add Collaborate as a new LTI module, follow the steps below:
      1. In the upper right corner of your course, press Turn editing on (it may already be on if you've already been editing your course)
      2. Under the Topic/Date that you would like to add Blackboard Collaborate module, click Add an activity or resource
      3. Select External tool and press Add
      4. Name the tool and under the "External tool type" choose Blackboard collaborate ultra
      5. Choose the options you would like for Privacy, Grade, etc, and click Save and return to course

      Recording your session for playback in Moodle

      When adjusting the settings for your Blackboard Collaborate Session in Moodle there are 3 recording options:

      1) Manual - A moderator must manually start the recordings when in the Blackboard Collaborate Session
      2) Automatic - the recording starts automatically when the session starts and at the end of the session
      3) Disabled - Recording is disabled

      The default recording setting is "Manual".  To start recording manually press the "Record" button in the upper right of the Blackboard Collaborate session window (Note:  Only a moderator may start or stop recording).  You may start, stop or pause recording at any point during your session.   

      Your session recording will be processed and uploaded to your Moodle course after the session has ended.  This process can sometimes take 1-2 hours.  The students will be able to view the session by clicking on the Blackboard Collaborate session and clicking play under the recordings section.  As an instructor the recording section is also where you can go to convert your presentation to an .mp4 or .mp3 file if so desired.




      Keywords:Blackboard, Collaborate, Moodle, 2.3   Doc ID:28951
      Owner:Cole H.Group:Moodle
      Created:2013-03-06 12:42 CDTUpdated:2016-01-19 12:27 CDT
      Sites:DoIT Help Desk, Moodle
      Feedback:  1   0