Blackboard Collaborate - Frequently Asked Questions Meeting Recording
This document includes answers to common questions regarding meeting recording in the Blackboard Collaborate service.
- What options exist for saving a recorded meeting session?
Collaborate allows moderators to record meeting sessions and access them on-demand. Recorded sessions are saved in a proprietary format on Blackboard's servers. UW-Madison faculty/staff retain all intellectual property rights. Session moderators have the ability to access their recordings via the integrations with Learn@UW, Moodle, or My UW Portal.
- How long will my recordings be available to me?
Recordings will be available for at least one year beyond the date the session was captured. Recordings that need to be saved for retention purposes should be downloaded to local storage. Collaborate Publish is a standalone tool (see below for more information) that provides a variety of options for converting into a portable format (e.g. MP3 or MP4), downloading, and repurposing content from recorded sessions. For details regarding output formats, see the Blackboard KB (Blackboard KB article).
- Can the Moderator start and stop the recording of a meeting?
Yes, the Moderator has the option to start and stop a recording during a session. Stopping the recording during the session effectively pauses the recording and the final output presents as a single archive. Therefore, a Moderator may choose to use this feature to exclude specific discussion from the recording.
- Can the Moderator export the meeting recording(s) as an offline archive or host on another service?
Yes. Collaborate Publish allows you to create portable, reusable content after a session has been recorded. This includes an "unplugged" version that is suitable for playback on machines without access to the Internet.
The desktop application is available from the vendor, Blackboard, at no charge: