Office 365 (Outlook 2011) - Share a folder

If you have a Office 365 account, you can share and delegate Outlook e-mail messages, events, contacts, tasks, and notes with people who are on the same system.

Do any of the following:

HideShare a folder

  1. In the navigation pane (navigation pane: The left pane of the Document Connection for Mac window that displays saved locations and files.), click the folder that you want to share.
  2. On the Organize tab, click Permissions.

    Organize tab, Permissions, Properties

  3. Click Add User, type the name of the user, and then click Find.
  4. In the search results, click the user's name, and then click OK.
  5. In the Name list, click the user's name, and then on the Permission Level pop-up menu, click the access level that you want.

To customize the user's permission levels, select or clear the check boxes. You can also change the options for Edit Items and Delete Items.

 Note   

  • When you delegate or share an address book, calendar, or mail folder, delegates or users who share those folders could view your private contacts, events, or e-mail messages by using other software applications. To help protect your privacy, put private items in a separate, non-shared address book, calendar, or mail folder.
  • Sharing a folder does not automatically share any subfolders. To share a subfolder, the primary folder must be shared first, and then you can set sharing permissions for the subfolder.

HideStop sharing a folder

  1. In the navigation pane (navigation pane: The left pane of the Document Connection for Mac window that displays saved locations and files.), click the folder that you want to stop sharing.
  2. On the Organize tab, click Permissions.

    Organize tab, Permissions, Properties

  3. On the Permissions tab, click the name of the user who you want to stop sharing with.
  4. To temporarily suspend access, on the Permission Level pop-up menu, click None.

Or, to permanently stop sharing with the person, click Remove.

 Tip   If you change the permission level to None, the user remains on the list, which allows you to quickly reinstate permissions later. If the calendar, address book, or mail folder has Folder Visible permissions assigned, the folder is still visible to the user when you suspend access.

See Also:




Keywords:microsoft office 365 outlook 2011 calendaring calendars emails contacts tasks events notes overview sharing share delegate delegation permissions access rights o365   Doc ID:31593
Owner:Ara M.Group:Office 365
Created:2013-07-15 13:13 CDTUpdated:2014-04-30 17:34 CDT
Sites:DoIT Help Desk, DoIT Tech Store, Office 365
Feedback:  0   0