UW-Madison Box - Project Directories
This document explains how to use Project Directories to collaborate in UW-Madison Box.
If you plan on sharing files with a research group, department or team of people over time, you can request a Project Directory to use for collaboration. A Project Directory is a UW-Madison enterprise Box account that is not owned by an individual user. Instead, requesting a Project Directory results in the creation of a special collaboration folder that will be used to manage group files and folders.
Project Directories usually have more than one co-owner associated with them to insure continuity of access in the event that one of the co-owners leave the University. Once the folder is available the co-owners may then share folder access with other Box users as desired.
Why Use a Project Directory?
The main advantage to using a Project Directory instead of an individually owned collaboration folder is that files and folders contained within the Project Directory folder will not be subject to deletion in connection with NetID service deactivations.
Requesting a Project Directory
To request a project directory, submit a request form with the appropriate information.
After clicking the Request Project Directory button to submit the form, your request will be reviewed and processed by the UW-Madison Box team, who will respond within 1-3 business days. Co-owners of the Project Directory will be responsible for communicating with UW-Madison Box administrators once the directory has been created.
Sharing Permissions: By default Project Directories are configured so that only co-owners can invite other collaborators and only collaborators can access files via shared links. A Project Directory co-owner can change the default sharing permissions at the root folder level. For more information see: Folder Settings
Folder Owner: The "Owner" of a Project Directory is a Box Service Account that is not accessible by end users. The Project Directory owner usually appears to be <Folder_Name>firstname.lastname@example.org. This can not be changed.
A File or Folder has Disappeared: Co-owners and Editors can move or delete files. If a file is deleted, only the collaborator who deleted the file will see it in their Trash.
Collaborator Permissions: It is important to carefully manage collaborator permissions. Box offers very fine control over what actions collaborators can take. See Understanding Collaborator Permission Levels for more information.