Learn@UW - Purpose of Auto-Grade Button when Grading a Quiz
When grading a quiz, the Auto-Grade button recalculates the quiz score for all questions and the total score according to the rules of how the questions were set up before any instructor intervened to changed the grade.
The recalculated score is automatically saved so that the Save button does not need to be pressed.
After pressing the Auto-Grade button, respond Yes to the following prompt to continue or No to back out:
Unless you backed out, you will receive another prompt:
Respond OK to this prompt before selecting any other tool to ensure that the change to the quiz score is saved. The change will be exported into the gradebook if "Auto Export to Grades" is checked in the "Properties" tabbed page of the quiz.