UW-Madison Box - Managing Shared Link Security Settings

This document describes the default shared link security settings on UW-Madison Box accounts and how these can be modified for individual files and folders.

Box shared links are used to provide quick view and/or download access to files and folders, and can also be used to grant access to files for users who do not have their own Box accounts. Choosing the correct security settings for shared links is important for ensuring that your files can be accessed by the correct people.

Default Settings

By default, shared link security is more restrictive for Project Directories than folders in your personal account, however, you can open up access to directory files or restrict your personal files using the settings described below.

User Accounts

By default, shared links for files and folders in your personal user account are accessible to anyone who possesses the link, which means that users will not be required to login in order to view the item.

If you would like to further restrict access to the item to UW-Madison affiliates or specific individuals, you will need to change this setting.

Project Directories

By default, shared links for files and folders in Project Directory accounts are only accessible to users who have already been added as collaborators to the relevant folder. Furthermore, any other type of shared link is initially restricted.

If you would like to grant access to folders or their contents without adding collaborators, you will first need to change these settings.

Modifying Shared Link Security

All Box folders have blanket security settings that can be modified by the Owner or Co-Owner(s) of the folder. If you are working in a Project Directory and wish to distribute shared links to non-collaborators, or if you are working in your personal account and wish to restrict shared links to collaborators, you will need to change this setting first.

  1. Click on the More menu icon (represented by three dots) to the right of the folder you are working with, then select Properties > Folder Settings.

  2. On the "Settings" page, go to the Shared Links section (found under "Collaboration"). Then, check or uncheck Restrict shared links in this folder to collaborators only as desired. You may also keep this setting partially enabled by using the dropdown menu to select either Folders only or Files only.

To change the basic access for an individual shared link:

  1. Click the Share link for the item you would like to send a link for.

  2. A smaller window will open. Below the shared link itself, click on the currently selected access option to open the dropdown menu. If you have never changed the default setting, this menu will be labeled "People in your company" (folders owned by personal accounts) or "People in this folder" (folders owned by Project Directories).

    • To disable shared links for the item, select Remove link.

      • Note: If you are working in a Project Directory and the folder setting described above has not been changed, this will be the only other option available to you.
    • To make the item accessible only to users who are listed as collaborators in the folder, select People in this folder.

    • To make the item accessible to UW-Madison affiliates with a NetID who possess the link, select People in your company.

    • To make the item accessible to users outside of the university, select People with the link.

See Also:




Keywords:box.com box.net dropbox uwmadison accounts shared links options change changing modifying update updating open access authorization domain company only remove disable restrictions expiration dates password protected protection collaborators external users project directory directories   Doc ID:41164
Owner:Jeannine B.Group:Box
Created:2014-06-17 11:24 CDTUpdated:2016-05-11 16:05 CDT
Sites:Box, DoIT Help Desk, DoIT Tech Store
Feedback:  1   0