L&S Climate Committee - Members and Guiding Principles

This document contains information about the L&S Climate Committee, including an overview, current members, and a list of past members of the L&S Climate Working Group.


In the spring of 2010, Dean Gary Sandefur commissioned the L&S Climate Working Group (CWG) to advise the Dean’s Office and offer recommendations regarding classroom and workplace climate issues within the College for faculty and staff. In the fall of 2013, Dean Sandefur made this a standing committee with three-year terms, now known as the L&S Climate Committee (LSCC).

Guiding Principles
“In partnership with the Dean of the College of Letters & Science, the L&S University Staff Issues Committee (USIC), the L&S Committee on Academic Staff Issues (CASI), and the L&S Academic Planning Council (APC), the L&S Climate Committee supports the mission of the College of Letters & Science to facilitate and encourage respectful, civil, and transparent work and classroom environments on the UW–Madison campus so that all employees, students, and campus visitors may thrive and reach their fullest potential." 

Contact the Committee
Please click here to send your comments and suggestions to the L&S Climate Committee. All submission through this form are anonymous and will not receive a reply. If you would like to contact the committee and receive a response, please send your comments to lscc@ls.wisc.edu

Current members of the L&S Climate Committee:

  • Mary Czynszak-Lyne (Emerita Volunteer) CWG 2010-13; LSCC 2013-15; LSCC 2015-18
  • Vlad Dima (Assistant Professor, Department of French and Italian) LSCC 2017-20
  • Rebecca Dunn (Technology Transfer, College of Letters and Science) LSCC 2017-20
  • Vicki Fugate (USIC Representative) LSCC 2016-2019
  • Tina Hunter (Academic Department Manager, Sociology) LSCC 2017-20
  • Dan McCammon (Professor, Department of Physics) LSCC 2015-18
  • Sara Nagreen (IT Coordinator, Math) LSCC 2016-2019
  • Mary Noles (Financial Specialist, Department of French and Italian) LSCC 2017-20
  • Jonathan Renshon (Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science) LSCC 2017-20
  • Jeanne Schueller (Faculty Associate, Department of German, Nordic, and Slavic) LSCC 2015-18
  • Benjamin Schultz (Assistant Director, School of Music) LSCC 2017-20
  • Hilary Shager (Associate Director, La Follette School of Public Affairs) LSCC 2015-18
  • Howard Veregin (State Cartographer, Department of Geography) LSCC 2015-18
Past Members of the L&S Climate Working Group:

See Also:

Keywords:shared governance diversity tolerance   Doc ID:45225
Owner:Joni B.Group:College of Letters & Science
Created:2014-11-21 16:41 CDTUpdated:2017-08-10 11:30 CDT
Sites:College of Letters & Science
Feedback:  0   0