Office 365 (Outlook 2016 | 2013 for Windows) - Sent or Deleted item is not saved within the sent/deleted items folder of the account actioned from

When you send or delete a message on behalf of someone via Outlook 2016/2013 for Windows, that message is placed in the "Sent Items" or "Deleted Items" folder of your own account and not in the "Sent Items" or "Deleted Items" folder of the mailbox you are sending/deleting from.

Recommended workaround(s):

Use Outlook on the web

  1. Log into OWA.
  2. Open another mailbox. Open the mailbox which you want to send the mail from.
  3. Create a new message and send it.

The message will be saved in the "Sent Items" folder of the 'From' account.

Create/Modify Registry object for "Sent Items" -- Outlook for Windows only

Important: Follow the steps in this section carefully. Windows Administrative privileges is required. Serious problems might occur if you modify the registry incorrectly. Before you modify it, back up the registry for restoration in case problems occur.

  1. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.
  2. Locate and then click the following registry subkey:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\x.0\Outlook\Preferences

    Note:The x.0 placeholder represents your version of Office (16.0 = Office 2016, 15.0 = Office 2013, 14.0 = Office 2010).

  3. If DelegateSentItemsStyle entry exists, right-click on it and click Modify. Otherwise, on the Edit menu, point to New, and then click DWORD Value and type DelegateSentItemsStyle, and then press Enter.
  4. Right-click DelegateSentItemsStyle, and then click Modify.
  5. In the Value data box, type 1, and then click OK.
  6. Exit Registry Editor.
  7. Restart Outlook

Now, when you send a message where the "From" address is the account you have permissions to send from, the message will be placed in the "Sent Items" folder of this account only.

Create/Modify Registry object for "Deleted Items" -- Outlook for Windows only

Important: Follow the steps in this section carefully. Windows Administrative privileges is required. Serious problems might occur if you modify the registry incorrectly. Before you modify it, back up the registry for restoration in case problems occur.

  1. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.
  2. Locate and then click the following registry subkey:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\x.0\Outlook\Options\General

    Note:The x.0 placeholder represents your version of Office (16.0 = Office 2016, 15.0 = Office 2013, 14.0 = Office 2010).

  3. If DelegateWastebasketStyle entry exists, right-click on it and click Modify. Otherwise, on the Edit menu, point to New, and then click DWORD Value, and type DelegateWastebasketStyle , and then press Enter.
  4. Right-click DelegateWastebasketStyle , and then click Modify.
  5. In the Value data box, type 4, and then click OK.
  6. Exit Registry Editor.
  7. Restart Outlook

Now, when you delete a message from the specific account, the message will be placed in the "Deleted Items" folder of this account only.

Use Clear AutoMapping feature

The Clear AutoMapping feature allows a domain administrator to remove all accounts that are within the AutoMapping listing of another account. This listing is used by Outlook 2016/2013 when a profile is loaded. View the AutoMapping document for further details.




Keywords:microsoft office365 o365 send as send on behalf of sent items folder email sent messages deleted items   Doc ID:45343
Owner:Ara M.Group:Office 365
Created:2014-12-01 10:52 CDTUpdated:2016-05-04 15:53 CDT
Sites:DoIT Help Desk, DoIT Tech Store, Office 365
Feedback:  4   11