D2L - Merging sections into one course (UW-Madison)
UW-Madison is adopting Canvas as the single, centrally supported learning management system, and discontinuing support for Desire2Learn (D2L) and Moodle. Access to D2L and Moodle will permanently end June 1, 2018. For information about retaining materials from D2L or Moodle, please refer to this document.
Instructor Wants to Merge Courses
Course merge requests:
The course is a crosslisted or meets-with course.
- In this case, if it is not showing up as correctly combined in D2L, a change needs to be made in SIS (the Integrated Student Information System) to reflect the course listing. The instructor's departmental timetable representative can make this change. Once the change has been made, the courses will automatically be merged by SIS during the nightly integration that takes place during the business week. Only the students will be merged, NOT course content.
Courses with one instructor who teaches multiple sections of the same course or if they teach different courses but want to mirror the same course content.
- In this case, instructors should contact the Help Desk with the course OU numbers of the courses they wish to be merged (D2L - Finding a Course Number (UW-Madison) contains instructions for locating the course OU)and which course they'd like to use as the master course. Once this information has been entered into a case, escalate the case.
The instructor has a crosslisted course but would like two course spaces.
- While not a merge, the customer will have to request the courses be split. Instructors should contact the Help Desk with the course OU number of the course they'd like split and the course names that were crosslisted. Once this information has been entered into a case, escalate the case.
Once the courses are combined, instructors will receive an email from the Learn@UW Team. This process takes 2 business days to complete. Only the students will be merged, NOT course content. This means that one course will have all students in it but the other courses will still be viewable by the instructor. Any content in those courses will stay in those courses, and must be migrated by the instructor if needed.
NOTE: If you use D2L for eGrade submission, you may be interested to know that merging your courses has no impact on the eGrade submission process. In other words, it doesn't matter what D2L course a course section is mapped to-the grades will go to the correct course section when exported from D2L to SIS.
If you'd like to check to see if your courses have merged successfully, navigate to your Classlist and change the
View By: to Groups and then click Apply. This will allow you to verify if your sections appear in the Groups dropdown.