Office 365 (Outlook 2016 for Windows) - Delete a message

Delete messages you no longer need or want to see in your Inbox or mail folders.

Deleting a message

To delete a message:

  • In the message list, when you point to or select a message, the Delete button appears.

    Delete

    To delete the message, press the Delete button.

  • If a message is open in its own window, click Message > Delete.

  • When a message is deleted, it's moved to the Deleted Items folder.

  • If you want to bypass the Deleted Items folder and permanently delete a message, press Shift + Delete or Shift + Delete button.

    Delete

    You won't have an opportunity to change your mind later and recover the message.

Wait! I changed my mind

If the message you want to keep is still in the Deleted Items folder, drag the message from the Deleted Items folder to another folder. When the Deleted Items folder is emptied for POP3 (Post Office Protocol 3 (POP3): A common Internet protocol that is used to retrieve email messages from an Internet email server.), IMAP (IMAP (Internet Message Access Protocol): Unlike Internet email protocols such as POP3, IMAP creates folders on a server to store/organize messages for retrieval by other computers. You can read message headers only and select which messages to download.), and Outlook.com or other Exchange ActiveSync accounts, the message is permanently gone.

There's an exception for some Office 365/Microsoft Exchange Server accounts. Please see recovering deleted message document for further details.




Keywords:microsoft office 365 2016 client outlook help mail calendaring overview messages searching delete o365 recover   Doc ID:52007
Owner:Ara M.Group:Office 365
Created:2015-06-05 13:53 CDTUpdated:2015-11-10 16:34 CDT
Sites:DoIT Help Desk, DoIT Tech Store, Office 365
Feedback:  0   1