KB User's Guide - SitePref Tab - Managing Group Relationships

You must have full user permissions for your space to perform these steps.

The Group Relations link allows KB Site Administrators to define how a site's documents are shared with other KB sites.

Navigation

KB Admin Tools > SitePref tab > Group Relations link > Group Relationships screen

The image below shows the Group Relationships screen.



What Admins Can Control from this Screen

  1. Admins may Add/ Remove KB Sites available under "Site Access" options when editing documents and news pages.

    The image below shows the SiteAccess field in the KB Admin Tools. This image indicates that two other KB sites will be sharing this document (e.g. will be able to view this document from their own KB Site). This Admin also has the option to share this document with 9 other KB sites.



  2. Allow/disallow external documents to be visible via the Unified KB.

    An Institution's Unified Site is an aggregate site in which KB subsites allow their external content to be seen.

    The image below shows the UW Unified KB Site. To see which UW KB sites have chosen to share their external documents with UW Unified, simply click on the Knowledge Base Partners link.



  3. Designate a "trust relationship" with a specific KB site(s) thereby allowing the trusted KB site to publish documents to your own KB site without your review or approval.

    Use Case: Software Support KB wants their to keep their users up to date and has created a trust relationship with the Office of Cybersecurity KB and IT Policy KB. With this trust relationship in place, when the Office of Cybersecurity KB and IT Policy KB publish a document, Software Support will not need to Activate that document, it will instead be visible from the Software Support KB automatically.



  4. Designate which KB Group(s) may have access to your internal KB Site.

Unified KB

The Unified KB is a virtual site which will not appear as an option for "Site Access" when editing documents and news pages. If the "Share Docs" column for the Unified KB is checked, your external content will become visible to the Unified KB site. If it's unchecked, your external documents will not be visible via the Unified KB site, unless you have chosen to share them with other groups and those groups have made their site content entirely visible to the Unified KB. This only applies to the documents you are sharing out, not the documents you keep to your own site or sites.

For any other group, if the "Share Docs" column is checked, that group's KB site(s) will become a "Site Access" option for you so you can share your content with that group. Publication of your documents on that group's KB site(s) is not automatic unless that group has selected "Trust Activation".

Columns on the Managing Group Relationships Table

Share iKB (Internal KB)

When you check and save the Share iKB column for another group, users with access to that group will have read access to content on your internal KB site. It is possible to share an internal KB site with multiple groups. This controls access to the entire site, in other words, at the site level.

For example:
Say that Site A checks Share iKB for Site B:



This action allows Site B users access to kb.wisc.edu/siteA/internal documents.

Therefore, Site B users will be able to search for and find any and all internal Site A documents. Site B users will not find internal Site A documents if searching on Site B (kb.wisc.edu/siteB/internal).

Share Docs

The Share Docs column controls Site Access when drafting a document. It gives the document author the option to share a document with other sites. By checking or unchecking the Share Docs column KB Site Administrators can specify what sites are available to document creators in the Site Access options. By checking Share Docs for a group, you will see that site as an option under Site Access when creating or editing a document. This controls access to individual documents at the document level.

For example:
If Site A checks Share Docs box for Site B,
Then when Site A users are editing documents they will see Site B as a choice under the Site Access options.

If Site A document owner elects to share the document with Site B by checking Site B under the Site Access options (in the KB Admin Tools document editor),
Then that document will appear when searching on both Site A and Site B.

Trust Activation

The Trust Activation option controls whether or not review is required before other groups post documents to your site. If the Trust Activation option is checked when that group activates a document shared to your site, the document will automatically be made active on your site, without KB Site Administrator review.

For example:
If the KB Admin for Site A checks Trust Activation for Site B, then all Site B users will be able to post documents to the Site A KB Site without needing to wait for the Site A KB Site Admin to review the documents. If Trust Activation is not checked, then a document created by the Site B but shared with Site A will be active on the Site B KB site but will be listed In Review on the Site A site.

Trusted By

This Yes/No column indicates if another KB Site trusts you. In other words, the Trusted By column will say Yes for any sites who have checked Trust Activation for your site.

For example:
If the Site A site has checked Trust Activation for the Site B, then on the Site B SitePref > Group Relationship table the Trusted By column for the Site A row will say Yes. This means that Site B users will be able to post documents to the Site A KB Site without needing to wait for the Site A KB Site Admin to review the documents.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)




Keywords:site preferences share trust unified   Doc ID:5797
Owner:Teresa A.Group:KB User's Guide
Created:2007-04-22 19:00 CDTUpdated:2018-04-06 16:59 CDT
Sites:KB User's Guide
Feedback:  0   0