UW-Madison - IT - Non-UW-Madison Applications and Services Guidelines

Applies to anyone contracting or otherwise acquiring use of non-UW-Madison-owned or -operated applications and services for university business.

Applications and services that are not owned and operated by UW-Madison might not meet UW-Madison guidelines or requirements for privacy, intellectual property, security, and records retention. Faculty and staff using or considering the use of non UW-Madison applications and services should take these factors into account when selecting applications and services.


Guidelines

Applications and services that are not owned and operated by UW-Madison might not meet UW-Madison guidelines or requirements for privacy, intellectual property, security, and records retention. Faculty and staff using or considering the use of non UW-Madison applications and services should take these factors into account when selecting applications and services.

Understand the risks to you and others

Protect sensitive research data and other sensitive information

Protect student privacy

Communicate the use of non UW-Madison applications and services to students

Understand who owns content and what they can do with it

Consider accessibility, support, retrieval, retention, and backup

References

Public Records Law - https://compliance.wisc.edu/public-records/
Acceptable Use Policy - https://www.wisconsin.edu/regents/policies/acceptable-use-of-information-technology-resources/
Web Accessibility Policy - https://kb.wisc.edu/itpolicy/cio-accessibility-policy
Data Classification Policy - https://kb.wisc.edu/itpolicy/cio-data-classification-policy
Protecting Your Student Data - https://registrar.wisc.edu/ferpa_guidelines_faculty_staff.htm
University Records Schedules - http://www.library.wisc.edu/archives/records-management/retention-disposition/
Research Data Sharing and Security - http://researchdata.wisc.edu/data-access-2/
HIPAA Security Officer and Coordinators - https://compliance.wisc.edu/hipaa/coordinators/
UW-Madison Information Technology website - http://it.wisc.edu/
Human Research Protection Program (HRPP) - https://research.wisc.edu/compliance-policy/human-research-protection-program/

Effective:   Jul 22, 2009
Revised:    Nov 01, 2013 RevC
Reviewed:  Apr, 2018
Review in: two years
Maintained by: Office of the CIO, IT Policy
History at: https://kb.wisc.edu/itpolicy/cio-non-uw-services-history
Reference at: https://kb.wisc.edu/itpolicy/cio-non-uw-services-guidelines

Please address questions or comments to policy@cio.wisc.edu.