Office 365 (Outlook on the web | Outlook for Windows/MacOS) - Share a calendar

This document will provide instructions on how to share a calendar within Outlook on the web, Outlook for Windows/MacOS with other UW-Madison Office 365 users. If you want to share your calendar with a user that is not within our UW-Madison environment, follow the instructions outlined in Office 365 (Outlook on the web | Outlook for Windows/MacOS) - Publish a calendar.

For a complete list of calendar permissions in Office 365, please see: Office 365 - Mail and Calendar folder permission levels.

If you want to grant permissions to your entire mailbox, please see: Office 365 - Manage Full Mailbox, Send As, and Send on Behalf of Permissions


Notes:



Sharing your calendar with other users

Outlook on the web

Important: If you want share a service account calendar, make sure you have the appropriate permissions, and have accessed the service account before proceeding.

  1. Log into Outlook on the web.
  2. Go to your calendar.
  3. To share any calendar, on the left hand side right click the calendar you want to share

    Share button

    and select Sharing and permissions
  4. This will open a new panel. If you already have shared your calendar with others, those people will be listed here. To share your calendar with a new person, type their email address or name into the search box. The search box will auto-populate with suggestions from within UW-Madison's Global Address List and your address book. If you want to modify the permission level of a person you have already shared your calendar with, find them in the permissions listing.
  5. When you have found the person you want to share your calendar with, click their entry and select the level of access you want to grant them. Note: You will only have the ability to provide read access to users who are not within UW-Madison's Office 365 environment.

    Note: If you have many users who you will be assigning the same set of permissions across multiple accounts, review Office 365 - Use of Security Groups to Manage Permissions document before continuing.

  6. After you've selected what level of access you would like this person to have, click Share button. This will send an email notifying the person that you have shared your calendar with them and the level of access you have granted them.

Note: If you are sharing a calendar with an account that is not hosted within UW-Madison's Office 365 implementation, please use Outlook on the web instructions.

Outlook for Windows

  1. Run Outlook.
  2. Go to your calendar.
  3. On the top ribbon, click Home.
  4. To share your primary Office 365 calendar, on the top ribbon, click Share Calendar button and select "Calendar" from the drop down list.
  5. Within 'Calendar Properties' window, either select the user you want to modify the permissions to or use the Add... button to search for and select a new user/account.

    Note: If you have many users who you will be assigning the same set of permissions across multiple accounts, review Office 365 - Use of Security Groups to Manage Permissions document before continuing.

  6. Assign the desired permissions.

    calendar permissions

  7. Click OK then click Apply to save the changes.

Note: If you are sharing a calendar with an account that is not hosted within UW-Madison's Office 365 implementation, please use Outlook on the web instructions.

Outlook for MacOS

  1. Run Outlook.
  2. Go to your calendar.
  3. Select your "Calendar".
  4. On the top ribbon, click Home.
  5. Then click Calendar Permissions.

    Calendar permissions

  6. Within 'Calendar Properties' window, either select the user you want to modify the permissions to or use the + button to search for and select a new user/account.

    Note: If you have many users who you will be assigning the same set of permissions across multiple accounts, review Office 365 - Use of Security Groups to Manage Permissions document before continuing.

  7. Assign the desired permissions.

    calendar permissions

  8. After you are added your changes, click Done to save the changes.

See Also: