Grad Coordinator Meeting Planning Committee

Each semester the Graduate School hosts the Grad Coordinator Meeting. There is a committee made up of Graduate School staff and Graduate Program Coordinators that meets to plan each meeting. Daniel Kleinman, Associate Dean, and Michelle Holland, Director of Academic Services, oversee the coordination of the planning team and the grad coordinator meeting each semester. The Grad Coordinator Meeting Planning Committee meets once a semester for 1-2 hours to suggest ideas and aid in planning the Grad Coordinator Meeting.

Beginning in 2014, the Grad Coordinator Meeting Planning Committee started rotating 3 year terms to introduce new ideas into planning the meetings.  There is one member from each Graduate School unit on the planning committee and 6 grad coordinator representatives.  The Assistant Dean or Director of each Graduate School unit ensures their unit is represented on the committee.  The grad coordinators represent the various academic disciplines as well as large and small grad programs.  New members serve 3 year rotating terms beginning in the Fall of each year.  At maximum, there are 2 new grad coordinator representatives each year.  A call for new grad coordinator representatives is announced at the Spring Grad Coordinator Meeting and sent out via e-mail to all Grad Coordinators each spring semester.  Ideally new members and those rotating off the committee attend the summer meeting to ensure a smooth transition.  The term for new members technically begins in the fall of each year.  Any Grad Coordinator interested in serving as a representative should contact Michelle Holland (michelle.holland@wisc.edu). 

Committee Chairs

Daniel Kleinman, daniel.kleinman@wisc.edu, Associate Dean (Chair)

Michelle Holland, michelle.holland@wisc.edu, Director of Academic Services (Co-Chair)

Graduate School Representatives

Amy Fruchtman, amy.fruchtman@wisc.edu, Office of Professional Development & Communications (2014-2017)

Irina Diaz, irina.diaz@wisc.edu, Office of Diversity, Inclusion, & Funding (2013-2016)

Emily Reynolds, emily.reynolds@wisc.edu, Office of Academic Planning & Assessment (2016-2019)

Randy Tackett, randall.tackett@wisc.edu, Office of Admissions & Academic Services (2015-2018)


Graduate Program Coordinator Representatives

Sharon Kahn, smkahn@geography.wisc.edu, Geography, Social Studies Division (2013-2016)

Darcy Little, dmlittle@wisc.edu Latin American, Caribbean, & Iberian Studies, Arts & Humanities Division (2013-2016)

Angela Thorp, thorp@cs.wisc.edu, Computer Science, Physical Sciences Division (2014-2017)

Kate Ryan, cryan7@wisc.edu, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences Division (2014-2017)

Marlina Polk McGiveron, polkmcgivero@wisc.edu, History, Arts & Humanities Division (2015-2018)





Keywords:grad coordinator, planning, meeting, committee   Doc ID:62945
Owner:Michelle H.Group:VCRGE and Graduate School
Created:2016-04-25 13:22 CDTUpdated:2016-11-23 10:26 CDT
Sites:VCRGE and Graduate School
Feedback:  0   0