Cisco VoIP - Handling multiple lines

Instruction on multiple lines and shared lines

  

If you share phone numbers with other people, you could have multiple lines on your phone. When you have multiple lines, you have more calling features available to you.

Answer the Oldest Call First

You can answer the oldest call available on all your phone lines, including Hold Reversion and Park Reversion calls that are in an alerting state. Incoming calls always have priority over Held or Park Reversion calls.

When working with multiple lines, you typically press the line button for the incoming call you want to answer.

If you just want to answer the oldest call regardless of line, press Answer.

 

View All Calls on Your Phone

You can view a list of all your active calls—from all your phone lines—sorted in chronological order, oldest to newest.

The list of all calls is useful if you have multiple lines or if you share lines with other users. The list displays all your calls together.

You can also display your active calls on your primary line, which is useful if you want all your calls displayed on a single screen.

Procedure

Press All Calls or the session button for your primary line.

 

View Important Calls

You can view a list of all Alert Calls in chronological order (oldest to most recent). An Alert Call is a phone number that you consider important. You want to be alerted when you receive a call from or make a call to this number.

Procedure

Press Alert call.

 

Display Call Notifications on Select Lines with Line Filters

You can configure your phone so you are alerted when somebody calls a high priority phone number or line.

For example, a senior executive's phone line or a customer help line. This tool is useful if you work with multiple phone lines and a high number of calls.

Depending upon how your administrator has configured your phone, you may be able to use a line filter during specific times of the day also.

 

           Create a Line Filter

Procedure

Step 1 Press Applications. Applications.jpg

Step 2 Select Settings > Call notifications > Add new filter.

The maximum number of custom filters is 20. If you have already created the maximum number of custom filters, delete a filter before continuing with this procedure.

Step 3 Press Select to make the text editable.

Step 4 Accept the default name for the new filter, or enter a new one.

Step 5 Select the lines to add to the new filter.

All available lines are displayed in the list. If you require a line that is not in the list, contact your administrator.

Step 6 Click Apply.

Step 7 To view the filter, press Back.

 

           Use a Line Filter

Procedure

Step 1 Press Applications. Applications.jpg

Step 2 Select Settings > Call notifications.

Step 3 Highlight the filter to apply and press Select.

 

           Change a Line Filter

You can change the line filters that you control. Your administrator controls the All Calls filter and the Daily schedule filter.

Procedure

Step 1 Press Applications. Applications.jpg

Step 2 Select Settings > Call notification.

Step 3 Highlight a filter and Press Edit to change an existing filter.

 

Shared Lines

You can share a single phone number with one or more of your coworkers. For example, as an administrative assistant, you might be responsible for screening calls for the person that you support.

When you share a phone number, you can use that phone line just like you would any other line, but you should be aware of these special characteristics about shared lines:

  • The shared phone number appears on all phones that share the number.
  • If your coworker answers the call, the shared line button and the session button are solid red on your phone.
  • If you put a call on hold, your line button is solid green and the session button pulses green. But your coworker's line button is solid red and the session button pulses red

           Add Yourself to a Call on a Shared Line

You or your coworker can join a call on the shared line. Your administrator needs to enable the feature on your phone.

If you try to add yourself to a call on a shared line and see a message that you cannot be added, try again.

If a user with whom you share a line has privacy turned on, you can't see their line settings and you can't add yourself to their call.

Procedure

Step 1 Press the line button for the shared line or select the line and press Barge.

Note: You need to press Calls to add yourself to a call on a shared line.

Step 2 (Optional) If you see a confirmation message, press Yes to add yourself to the call.

 

           Get Notified Before You Join a Call on a Shared Line

You can set up your phone to alert you when you barge in to a call. By default, the alert prompt is turned Off.

Procedure

Step 1 Press Applications. Applications.jpg

Step 2 Select Settings > Barge Alert.

Step 3 Click On to enable the alert.

 

           Enable Privacy on a Shared Line

Privacy prevents others who share your line from seeing information about your calls.

Privacy applies to all shared lines on your phone. If you have multiple shared lines and privacy is enabled, others cannot view any of your shared lines.

If the phone that shares your line has privacy enabled, you can make and receive calls using the shared line as usual.

Visual confirmation is displayed on your phone screen for as long as the feature is enabled.

Procedure

Step 1 Press Privacy to enable the feature.

Step 2 Press Privacy again to turn off the feature.




Keywords:multiple lines, shared lines, telephone cisco, line, hold, answering,   Doc ID:76048
Owner:Phuc M.Group:Voice Services
Created:2017-08-24 14:09 CSTUpdated:2017-11-03 18:08 CST
Sites:DoIT Help Desk, Voice Services
Feedback:  0   0