UW-Madison Box - Removing a Shared File or Folder
This document describes the appropriate method to remove a folder from your Box directory after having been made a collaborator.
Removing Access vs. Deleting
If another Box user has added you as a collaborator to a folder, it will appear in your Box directory alongside the items you own. In some cases, you may have been given permissions that allow you to delete the folder (i.e. move to "Trash"), however, doing this will completely remove the folder from Box, including from the owner's directory.
Do not delete the folder unless you truly intend to delete it for all users with whom it has been shared.
If you no longer wish to access the folder that was shared with you, you should instead remove yourself as a collaborator. After doing this, you will not see the folder in your directory, but all other users with whom it has been shared with retain their individual access.
- Note: You may only remove yourself as a collaborator to a parent folder, i.e. the folder that appears in your main directory. If the shared folder contains subfolders, you will not be able to remove yourself from them due to Box's permissions structure. For more information, please see: https://community.box.com/t5/How-To-Guides-for-Sharing/Folder-And-Subfolder-Permissions/ta-p/157
Removing Yourself as a Collaborator
Follow these steps to remove yourself as a collaborator on a folder so that it no longer appears in your directory:
Locate the folder in your Box directory, then click the More Options menu (displayed as an ellipses) > More Actions > End Collaboration.
You will see a prompt confirming that you wish to be removed as a collaborator. Click Okay to complete the action.
The folder should no longer appear in your Box directory. If you later realize that you need access to the folder again, contact the owner to request that they add you back as a collaborator.