Help Desk (Former Student) - Steps to take before your access to Office 365, G Suite, Box, and Qualtrics changes
Effective January 2018, individuals who leave the University will begin a deactivation process that may change their access to the following services:Affected IT Services
- Office 365
- G Suite
Note: Service-based deactivation will not impact the NetID Login Service.
Why is my access changing?
Your affiliation type determines how your access to affected IT services will change when you leave the University. Please see the chart below to learn more.
|Former Student||Registrars Office updated your status from enrolled to not enrolled at the University||- Reduced to email, calendar, contacts, and tasks only
- Lose access to web and desktop apps
|Continues||Lose access||Lose access|
When will I lose access?View the service-based deactivation timeline to see when your access will change.
What should I do next?Step 1: You are encouraged to classify data that you created into two categories:
Personal data: You can keep this data and will need to backup files before losing access to your account.
University data: You will need to transfer ownership of this data to designated faculty/staff or to another University account.
Step 2: Once you organize your data, your next step will be to either backup or transfer ownership of that data:
|Backup personal data||Transfer ownership of University data|
- Email and Calendar: No further action is required because you will continue to have access to these services.
- Web and Desktop Apps: Office 365 - Backup OneDrive for Business data*
|Office 365 - Preserving organizational data due to a position change or retirement|
|G Suite||UW-Madison G Suite - Backing up data|
|Box||UW-Madison Box - Backup your data||Box - Transferring Folder Ownership|
|Qualtrics||Qualtrics Survey Hosting - Backup your data||Qualtrics Survey Hosting - Transfer ownership of your survey|
*90 days after your account is selected for deactivation, your data in OneDrive for Business will be deleted and cannot be recovered. Collaborators will also lose access to those files once they are deleted.