Saving Custom Views in Tableau
Custom views of Tableau dashboards can be saved for future use and can be set as the default view of the dashboard for a user. This KB article explains how.
- Enter a name that is descriptive of the custom view. If you would like for the new custom view to become the default view when you return to the dashboard, check the box for Make Default. Do not check the "Make Public" box as this will make the custom view appear in other users' menu of views. Click the Save button.
- The custom view is now saved. By clicking the View button from the menu above or below the dashboard, the user can now select the custom view or the original view. By clicking the Manage button, the user can rename the custom view by clicking the pencil icon or delete the view by clicking the trash can icon. If the user accidentally makes the custom view public, it can be made non-public by deselecting the eye icon (it should be gray). Click Done after managing the custom view.