Course Search & Enroll - "The hold must be removed before you can enroll" Error

This document explains the meaning of the "The hold must be removed before you can enroll" error message and how it can be resolved.


What it means:

A hold is a temporary status connected to your student records, placed by a campus unit (academic department, library, Bursar's Office, etc.) that wants to alert you of an action you need to take (meet with an advisor, pay a library fine, pay your tuition, etc.).

Some kinds of holds will prevent you from changing your class schedule, including enrolling in or dropping classes, until the hold is cleared.

Course enrollment failed: You have a hold on your record. The hold on your record must be removed before this transaction can be processed.

Drop failed message


What to do:

Find out what the hold is by checking Student Center.
Follow the instructions in Student Center to resolve the reason for the hold. Then, contact the campus unit that placed the hold, to confirm that they have cleared the hold for you.

For further instructions, see: Student Center - Viewing your Holds.

After any enrollment-related holds are cleared, you can enroll in classes. Remember to check for any holds before enrolling for future terms!

You've cleared your holds but you're still seeing an error message?
You might still be seeing an error message from the last time your attempted to add the course to your cart or enroll. The message does not refresh/revalidate and will stay on the page until the next time you try to enroll.
This means that if you know you no longer have any hold on your record, you can disregard the error message and click Enroll.

See Also: