Course Search & Enroll - "Instructor consent or department permission is required" Error

This document explains the meaning of the "Instructor consent or department permission is required" error message and how it can be resolved.


What it means:

In addition to requisites, some classes have a special process that allows the instructor to approve who takes the class. Common examples are Independent Study and music performance classes.
Other classes will have enrollment determined by the department offering the class. Once the term begins, there are deadlines after which students need to get the department's permission to add a class.
Examples of validation/enrollment errors that are related to instructor consent or department permission:

Course enrollment failed: You were not enrolled. This course falls outside your career of study. Contact the department offering the course to request permission or choose another course.


Course enrollment failed: You were not enrolled. This class requires permission to enroll because the deadline to enroll has passed.

Course validation failed: Enrollment prerequisites not met. Review the course prerequisites and class notes information in the course details before contacting the department offering the course.

Course validation failed: You will need to obtain permission to enroll in this class. If you have a permission number, enter it in the course section details.


What to do:

Contact the appropriate instructor or department to request permission to enroll, and include your campus ID number. You may be asked for more information about your qualifications and interest in the class.

If the instructor or department approves you for the class, they will create as special permission for you in the enrollment system.

You still need to enroll in the class! Go to Course Search & Enroll to enroll. Get in touch with the instructor or department who gave the permission if you still have problems enrolling in the class.


You've been given permission to enroll but you're still seeing an error?
You might still be seeing an error message from the last time your attempted to add the course to your cart or enroll. The message does not refresh/revalidate and will stay on the page until the next time you try to enroll.
This means that if you know you've been given permission to enroll in the class, you can disregard the error message and click Enroll.

See Also: