SIS/Building Your Schedule of Classes - Deleting vs. Canceling Sections

logo

This document outlines the differences between deleting and canceling a class section.

Class sections that will not be offered for a term must be removed from the Schedule of Classes, and must either be canceled or deleted depending on the circumstances.


Deleting sections vs canceling sections and appropriate use cases

Delete a class section when: 

Schedule of Classes has not been released. A class section should only be deleted if the Schedule of Classes for that term has not been released yet in Course Search & Enroll.

Cancel a class section when: 

Schedule of Classes has been released. Canceling a section after Schedule of Classes for that term has been released and appears in Course Search & Enroll will ensure students receive correct information in the enrollment system.

Never delete a section after the Schedule of Classes has been released; doing so will remove the class number, resulting in errors for enrollment and student confusion.

Important: You will have to work with Curricular Services to cancel a section with enrollment.


How to delete a section before the Schedule of Classes is published

Step 1

From the SIS Homepage, select the Curric & Enrollment Rep WorkCenter tile. Select the Maintain Schedule of Classes link. Use the Find page to locate the course. Search by Institution, Term, and Subject Area (option: add Catalog Nbr). Select the desired course.

Step 2

On the Basic Data tab, navigate to the section to be deleted. Select the “-” button on the top right corner of the section

Step 3

Select Save.


How to cancel a section after the Schedule of Classes is published

Step 1

From the SIS Homepage, select the Curric & Enrollment Rep WorkCenter tile. Select the Maintain Schedule of Classes link. Use the Find page to locate the course. Search by Institution, Term, and Subject Area (option: add Catalog Nbr). Select the desired course.

Step 2

Select the Enrollment Control Tab, and navigate to the section to be deleted. In the Class Status menu, select “Canceled section.”

Step 3

Select the yellow Cancel Class button. 

Step 4

Select Save.

Note: If you need to cancel a section with enrollment, on the Enrollment Control Tab set the enrollment capacity to 0 so no additional students may enroll. Then contact Curricular Services to assist with canceling the section. 




Keywords:registrar, Office of the Registrar, RO, delete, cancel, sections, course, class, remove   Doc ID:118637
Owner:Ellen C.Group:Office of the Registrar
Created:2022-05-20 11:26 CDTUpdated:2022-09-12 15:48 CDT
Sites:Office of the Registrar
Feedback:  0   0