Topics Map > Office of Cybersecurity > Tools and Software > LastPass
LastPass - What Happens to My Accounts When I Leave the University?
When you leave UW-Madison employment, you will lose eligibility for your LastPass Enterprise account. Your LastPass Enterprise account will be automatically deprovisioned and the credentials stored within it will no longer be accessible. Notification emails will be sent forewarning of deactivation if possible.
If you have a LastPass Premium account associated with your UW-Madison Office365 email address, you will retain your Premium account as long as your UW-Madison Office365 email address remains active.
Should your UW-Madison Office365 email address be deactivated, your LastPass Premium account will be downgraded to a LastPass Free account. Any credentials stored in your LastPass Premium/LastPass Free account will be retained within that account.
To avoid the accidental loss of any personal credentials, we recommend regularly confirming that your saved credentials are stored within the correct account.
Please Note: LastPass Free Accounts can be upgraded to Paid Premium accounts without UW–Madison affiliation through the LastPass website or by navigating to Account Settings > Account Information in your LastPass Vault. Current pricing information is available on the LastPass website. For specific information relating to shared folders within LastPass Enterprise, refer to What Happens to My Shared Folders When I Leave the University?