Topics Map > Office of the Secretary of the Faculty > Faculty Senate > Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate Minutes 2019-12-02

Minutes approved 02-03, 2020

All agenda items 

Chancellor Rebecca Blank called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. with 151 voting members present (111 needed for quorum). Memorial resolutions were offered for Professor Emeritus Tom Carpenter (Fac Doc 2854) and Professor Emeritus Robert D. Lorenz (Fac Doc 2855)

Chancellor Blank ceded the chair to Provost Karl Scholz for the balance of the meeting. He noted that the campus mourns the sudden death of Professor Teju Olaniyan, Professor of English. Scholz commented on UW-Madison’s proposal to adapt the Board of Regents policy for non-resident enrollment to include transfer, off-cycle, and Minnesota compact students (who pay in state tuition); he extended congratulations to the three Rhodes Scholar finalists. He also reinforced the university’s commitment to the hostile and intimidating behavior (HIB) policy, and cited some tools the campus community can use to address problems, such as training, reporting, and exploring best practices (e.g. the College of Engineering efforts). University Committee chair Terry Warfield asked everyone to take a moment to reflect on one sentence of the Our Shared Future plaque at each senate meeting. He also commented on the UC’s involvement in implementing the HIB policy, and reminded faculty to be involved in department discussions to roll out the Title and Total Compensation (TTC) project.

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Lori Reesor, gave an update on activities in her office, such as monthly meetings on diversity by student leaders; the very successful voter registration drive; a field trip to the Smithsonian Museums in Washington D.C.; awards of a student leadership certificate; and events around Human Rights Week at the Wisconsin Union. Challenges for campus include addressing mental health needs; diversity, equity, and inclusion to increase cultural competency; the American Association of Universities (AAU) sexual assault survey reporting that 1 in 4 undergraduate women experience sexual violence—there is still much there to improve.

Susan Fuszard, from the Employee Assistance Office (EAO) highlighted trends in who uses their services and how the EAO can help with work and home life challenges. A new service, LifeMatters, provides 24/7 advice and information on a variety of topics: legal consultation (e.g., setting up power of attorney or dealing with identity theft), convenience services (finding the perfect exercise class or childcare or house; a list of gluten-free restaurants for a cross-country road trip).

The minutes of the meeting of November 4, 2019, were approved.

Dean Bill Karpus presented the annual reports of the Graduate Faculty Executive Committee (GFEC) (Fac doc 2856) and Graduate School (Fac doc 2857); Professor David Noyce presented information about the Discontinuation of the Department of Engineering Professional Development (Fac doc 2858) and Professor Nasia Safdar presented the Campus Diversity & Climate Committee (CDCC) annual report (Fac doc 2859). Safdar moved to add a postdoctoral scholar to the CDCC membership. The motion was seconded and passed by voice vote without dissent (Fac doc 2160).

Professor Warfield presented a Resolution in Objecting to the Composition of the University of Wisconsin System President Search and Screen Committee (Fac doc 2861), which passed by voice vote without dissent. Professor Warfield also presented Faculty document 2862, a Resolution Endorsing the Wiscard Emergency Contact Resolution Passed by the Associated Students of Madison

Professor Warfield moved to convene in closed session pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c) and (f) to consider the recommendation of the Committee on Honorary Degrees. The motion was seconded and passed at 4:39 p.m. Professor Dietram Scheufele (Department of Life Sciences & Communication and chair, Committee on Honorary Degrees) presented background information on the honorary degree nominees. Senators voted by paper and electronic ballot whether to award the degrees. Both candidates were approved with 130 votes cast. Professor Steve Ventura (University Committee, District 120) moved to reconvene in open session. The motion was seconded and passed at 4:46 p.m., at which point Provost Scholz adjourned the meeting.

Jane M. Richard
Interim Secretary of the Faculty

Keywordsshared governance document   Doc ID97612
OwnerGideon E.GroupUW Secretary of the Faculty
Created2020-02-04 13:15:54Updated2023-12-07 17:59:35
SitesUW Secretary of the Faculty
Feedback  0   0