UW-Madison Qualtrics - Recreate a contact list
WARNING: Do not delete a contact list if it still has an active survey distribution going out to the list. Wait for the distribution to complete.
Export your list
-
From the Home screen, open the Main Menu (displayed as three lines) and navigate to Directories

-
Open the Segments & Lists tab and click Lists

-
Click the 3 dot menu to the right of your list and click Export contacts

-
An Export contacts window will appear
-
File format should be set to “CSV”
-
You can either select the embedded data fields you would like included in the export or check the box to “Select all private list data fields”
-
Click the Export Contacts button at the bottom right of the page

-
-
A .csv file should appear in your Downloads folder. The name of the file will start with POOL_
-
Open the file from your Download folder and verify that the fields you want to include are present in the file. You can remove any columns you don’t want to include in the new contact list. Make sure you save the file.
Create a new list
-
Return to the main Lists page in the Qualtrics Directory
-
Click on the Create a list button on the right side of the window

-
Give the new list a name and make sure to check the box to “Make data in this list private”. Click Confirm.

-
On the next screen, click on the tile to Upload a file

-
In the next window you can either drag and drop the .csv file from your Downloads folder or click “Select a file” and browse for the file on your computer.
-
When you have added the .csv file you want to import, click Next in the lower right corner

-
You will be presented with a preview of the data. If everything looks correct, click Upload the file in the lower right corner.
-
A Tasks pane will appear on the right side of the screen that will show you the progress of the Import contacts task.

-
Return to the main Lists page in the Qualtrics Directory
-
Once the import task completes you should be able to search for your new list.
-
Validate that it has the contacts that you expect.
-
If everything looks good you can delete your old list.
-
Search for the old list by name
-
From the 3 dot menu to the right of the list, select Delete

-
You will be asked to confirm that you understand that the contact list will be permanently deleted. When you are confident the list can be deleted, click Delete.

-
-
[Optional] You may Rename the new list from the 3 dot menu to the right of the list.

-
If the old list was previously shared with a group you will need to Share the contact list again.
