KB User's Guide - SitePref Tab - Managing Group Relationships
The Group Relations link allows KB Site Administrators to define how a site's documents are shared with other KB sites.
This functionality allows Site Administrators to specify:
- What group sites should be available under "Site Access" options when editing documents and news pages.
- Whether or not your external documents should be visible via the Unified KB.
- What groups to have trust relationships with. Trusted groups can publish documents to your KB site without your review or approval.
- What groups to have access to your internal KB Site.
The "Managing Group Relationship" page includes the following columns:
- Group Name
- Group Contact
- Share iKB
- Share Docs
- Trust Activation
- Trusted By
To change your share and trust relationships, simply click on the check boxes and press the Update button at the bottom of the list.
Note that the Unified KB is a virtual site which will not appear as an option for "Site Access" when editing documents and news pages. If the "Share Docs" column for the Unified KB is checked, your external content will become visible to the Unified KB site. If it's unchecked, your external documents will not be visible via the Unified KB site, unless you have chosen to share them with other groups and those groups have made their site content entirely visible to the Unified KB. This only applies to the documents you are sharing out, not the documents you keep to your own site or sites.
For any other group, if the "Share Docs" column is checked, that group's KB site(s) will become a "Site Access" option for you so you can share your content with that group. Publication of your documents on that group's KB site(s) is not automatic unless that group has selected "Trust Activation".
Columns on the Managing Group Relationships Table
Share iKB (Internal KB)
When you check and save the Share iKB column for another group, users with access to that group will have read access to content on your internal KB site. It is possible to share an internal KB site with multiple groups. This controls access to the entire site, in other words, at the site level.
Say that Site A checks Share iKB for Site B.
This would give Site B users access to kb.wisc.edu/siteA/internal. Once on that site, Site B users will be able to search for and find any internal Site A document. Site B users will not find internal Site A documents if searching on Site B (kb.wisc.edu/siteB/internal).
The Share Docs column controls Site Access when drafting a document. It gives the document author the option to share a document with other sites. By checking or unchecking the Share Docs column KB Site Administrators can specify what sites are available to document creators in the Site Access options. By checking Share Docs for a group, you will see that site as an option under Site Access when creating or editing a document. This controls access to individual documents at the document level.
If Site A checks Share Docs for Site B then when Site A users are editing documents they will see Site B as a choice under the Site Access options. If The Site A document author elects to share the document with Site B by checking Site B under the Site Access options then the document will appear in searches on both Site A and Site B.
The Trust Activation option controls whether or not review is required before other groups post documents to your site. If the Trust Activation option is checked when that group activates a document shared to your site, the document will automatically be made active on your site, without KB Site Administrator review.
If the Site Admin for Site A checks Trust Activation for Site B, then all Site B users will be able to post documents to the Site A KB Site without needing to wait for the Site A KB Site Admin to review the documents. If Trust Activation is not checked then a document created by the Site B but shared with Site A will be active on the Site B KB site but listed under For Team Review on the Site A site.
This Yes/No column indicates if another KB Site trusts you. In other words, the Trusted By column will say Yes for any sites who have checked Trust Activation for your site.
If the Site A site has checked Trust Activation for the Site B, then on the Site B SitePref > Group Relationship table the Trusted By column for the Site A row will say Yes. This means that Site B users will be able to post documents to the Site A KB Site without needing to wait for the Site A KB Site Admin to review the documents.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
- What do 'Share iKB', 'Share Docs', 'Trust Activation', and 'Trusted By' mean?
- How do I share all of my external docs with the Unified KB site?
- How do I share all of my external docs with another KB Site?
- How do I share all of my internal docs with another KB Site?
- How do I share one or more documents with another KB Site?
- Why don't I see a particular site under the Other Sites section when editing a KB doc?
- How do I allow another KB Site to share documents with my site without requiring my approval each time?
- How do I make sure that I get to review KB documents that are shared to my group before they get activated?