Topics Map > Contacts

Finding Help With Moodle at UW-Madison

The UW-Madison Moodle Service is a campus level service that hosts Moodle classes for most of the campus. However, there are other Moodle services meeting the specialized needs of certain programs. This document will help you determine which Moodle service you are, or should be, using and how to get support for that service.

UW-Madison Moodle Service

The UW-Madison Moodle Service is a centrally funded Moodle service which is used by much of the campus.  There are also several other Moodle services meeting the specialized needs of particular programs that are not part of the UW-Madison Moodle Service.  Click here for support information for Moodle sites not supported by the UW-Madison Moodle Service.

Finding Your Moodle Class

UW-Madison students with NetIDs can find and access their Moodle classes at https://learnuw.wisc.edu/.  Use the red "UW NetID Login" button in the top left corner of the page.

General Moodle Help

  • The moodle.org documentation site contains a wealth of information about core Moodle features
  • The UW Moodle knowledge base (KB) contains many helpful articles that are specific to the Moodle installation at UW-Madison
  • Contact the DoIT Help Desk (608-264-4357) for login and other general questions.

Course Creation and Advanced Help for Instructors and Students

These services are offered by department and college-level support staff.  As noted in the table, some colleges and departments  allow self-service course creation. In other cases, courses must be created by the listed support contact. For those non-timetable programs who use CSIS for automated NetID assignment to learners, Moodle courses are created through CSIS.

Campus Affiliation Support Contact Course Creation
Agricultural and Life Sciences, College of (CALS) Tom Tabone
ttabone@wisc.edu
Self-service
ChemistryRachel Bain
rbain@chem.wisc.edu
Self-service
MathSara Nagreen
sjziemen@wisc.edu
Self-service
All other College of Letters and Sciences (L&S) Courses
(except Chemistry and Math)
Steel Wagstaff
swagstaff@wisc.edu
Self-service
Business, School of Billy Kardasz
courses@bus.wisc.edu
Support contact
Education, School of 1. Catherine Stephens
cstephens@education.wisc.edu

2. Chris Dowling

cdowling@wisc.edu

Self-service
Engineering, College of (COE) Wendt Commons: Teaching and Learning Services
tls@engr.wisc.edu
Phone: 608-265-1178
Self-service
Engineering, College of: Professional Development (EPD) (Timetable Courses, including online engineering masters degrees)onlinesupport@epd.wisc.eduSupport contact
Law School

Jarrod Bogucki
jbogucki@wisc.edu
Self-service
Medicine and Public Health, School of (SMPH)
SMPH Educational Technology
edtech@med.wisc.edu
Support contact
Pharmacy, School of (Timetable courses)
Amy Childs
amchilds@pharmacy.wisc.edu
Support contact
Environmental Studies / Nelson Institute Tara Mohan
temohan@wisc.edu
Self-service
 Small Business Development Center (in the Wisconsin School of Business)
 Julie Wood
julie.wood@wisc.edu
 CSIS
 Office of Continuing Professional Development (in the School of Medicine and Public Health)
 Julie Martinelli
julie.martinelli@wisc.edu
 CSIS
 Division of Continuing Studies
 Alan Ng alan.ng@wisc.edu
 CSIS
 All Others DoIT Academic Technology
learnuwsupport@doit.wisc.edu
N/A

Note:  If you do not see a relevant support person please contact the DoIT Help Desk (608-264-4357).

Other UW-Madison Moodle sites   (not managed by the UW-Madison Moodle Service)

Course Creation and Advanced Technical Help

Campus Affiliation Instructional Support
Moodle Service
Servers URL
Education, School of

Matthew Freid

freid@wisc.edu



School of Education Moodle (WIDA, project groups)
School of Education Outreach courses for special & non-credit students

https://wida.wisc.edu/ 



https://uonline.education.wisc.edu/

Engineering, College of: Professional Development (EPD)(Continuing education professional development courses)
onlinesupport@epd.wisc.edu Online Short Courses https://epdonline.courses.wisc.edu
Pharmacy, School of (Continuing Education) Amy Childs
amchilds@pharmacy.wisc.edu
Continuing Education http://ce.pharmacy.wisc.edu/

Note:
  If you do not see a relevant support person please contact the DoIT Help Desk (608-264-4357).



Keywords:moodle, eCOW2, Engineering Central, MEPP, MEES, Pharmacy, Business, CALS, L&S, biology, chemistry, physics, Continuing Studies, law, math, environmental studies, nelson institute, support, escalate   Doc ID:9515
Owner:Michael L.Group:Moodle
Created:2009-04-06 19:00 CDTUpdated:2015-12-11 10:00 CDT
Sites:DoIT Help Desk, Moodle
Feedback:  4   18